Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I first made this for a Christmas brunch and everyone loved it. I then used it to feed over 100 people at a woman's breakfast at church that I hosted. Everyone just raved over it. I am planning on making it for this Christmas again and I got strict orders from my mother to save her a piece. This also reheats really good. I will be making 2 pans this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My family loves this! I made it with no changes and it was just plain awesome! We have made it several times for Easter, Christmas Brunch, or anytime the family gathers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made it for our Christmas gathering with my son and his family and it was loved by all! Even their kids :) I did modify to incorporate several comments from others - increased the amount of bacon; cooking and seasoning the onions for 10 minutes prior to adding the bacon. I cooled onions/bacon on paper towels before adding to other ingredients. I like spicy food so used pepper jack cheese rather than the Swiss. I also used obrien potatoes for the extra flavor. I added Italian seasoning and black pepper to the eggs as well before adding to the mix. We had an amazing casserole after 50 minutes in the oven...hard to get them to wait the ten minutes to cut into it! Definitely will make this again! So will my kids ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has been my go-to recipe for a long time (it was originally posted long ago). It is delicious as it stands, but is so adaptable. I generally cut the recipe in half and make it in an 8x8 or 9x9 pan. I have added, in no particular order, minced jalapenos, a can of drained Rotel tomatoes and chilis, green peppers, red peppers, turkey sausage, hot sausage, bacon, and various cheeses (regular or low-fat), depending on what I have on hand. (Please note: I have never added these all at once; this is a list of possible additions you might have on hand. And if you're halving the recipe and are enthusiastic in your additions, use 5 eggs instead of 4.) Also, I use the packaged southwest-style hash browns in place of the plain hash browns. One suggestion: the only thing I found among the cheeses that I couldn't replace is the cottage cheese. It really is essential for creaminess. The one time I made this without, the casserole was brick-like, edible, but not nearly as good as usual. I often make this on a Sunday morning and cut the leftovers in squares and refrigerate or freeze, to be eaten during the week or later. Thank you for this delicious addition to AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This. Was. Delicious! I made this for Christmas breakfast, and the family raved about it. I prepared it last night following the exact recipe, and set it in the fridge overnight. Baked at 350 for 1 hour this morning. Would make sure the hash browns are fully thawed and DRY before placing in the mix (otherwise could be sloppy or ruined by too much moisture). Also, did have to use paper towels to absorb grease from the top of the dish. Afterward this dish was not greasy looking or tasting. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I scaled down the ingredients since I only had 3 eggs. I poured everything into a greased 8" square baking dish and baked as directed until the eggs looked firm, ~ 30 minutes. The internal temperature was 180F, well above the safe temperature for egg casseroles. I let the casserole cool for about 5 minutes before serving. The texture was moist yet firm. Very tasty for not having to add additional salt or pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I have made this casserole for the past 4 Christmas mornings. Everyone loves it! The only change I made was to put chunks of ham in from XMAS eve dinner. DOnt care for breakfast casseroles that have bread in them. This is just perfect to feed a large crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
My family loves this breakfast casserole! I make two substitutions due to our love of all things spicy. I use sausage instead of bacon and pepper jack cheese instead of swiss cheese. I also sometimes add chopped, pickled jalapeno pepper slices. Like I said, we love some spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made it the original way and loved it, but I always like to try something different so I also decided to try turkey bacon. I really like it this way because it had the taste without the greasy part. I also omitted the onions, only because I thought it was rich enough without it. You can do so many different things with this recipe and still have a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary JM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My family loved this! Will definitely be making this again soon! I cooked the bacon in the oven instead of frying it and sautéed the onions in a little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States