Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for a savory alternative to the brown sugar/butter recipe and found this. I didn't have any celery on hand so I substituted some frozen turnip greens and added a dash of cayenne pepper. This would make a super holiday dish but is great for every day too. You could even use it as an alternate for a loaded potato. Added bonus, my kitchen smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenna
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I added red bell pepper inside mine. It's not very pretty but it sure tastes good. Great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I love this dish and have made it often. My husband doesn't care for mushrooms, so I just omit them (sad, I know), and it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
We weren't crazy about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kesha12381
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I was thrilled when I first ran across this recipe because I've been trying to find a non-sweet recipe for using acorn squash (they're all for ones baked with brown sugar or maple syrup, ugh), but this one ended up being too sweet also. The filling was delicious as other users have noted and the cheese is a great idea to add interest and complexity of flavor, but frankly, I just think acorn squash is way too sweet to translate well with savory flavors like the cheese. I would definitely not make this again. The only way I think this might work out okay is if you took it a step further and used a different, more bland kind of squash or possibly if you added a spicy ground sausage to the cheese and celery mixture. Otherwise, the flavors are just too poor of a match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
So very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very good!! Very easy to make. Didn't make too many changes. Only used 2 Tbl butter and added garlic salt. Put fresh ground pepper and a little salt into the wells of the acorn squash prior to adding the filling. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time the way it is shown. My husband wasn't really excited about it, he didn't really care for the mushrooms. I however really liked it. So I decided to make it again and change it up to see if I could change his mind. I cooked the squash as the recipe says but then let it cool slightly. I cooked the onions, celery & mushrooms as per the recipe but then I scraped the inside of the squash into the celery mixture, added a diced clove of garlic, 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I then placed this mixture back into the squash shell, baked @ 350 for 15 minutes then topped with 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. Baked for 5 minutes more till cheese melted. Success, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States