Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is so yummy and beautiful. We are going to add it to the thanksgiving table! On a less elaborate day, it can serve as a vegetarian entree. I prefer it with a sharper cheese - italian blend is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious. I added a pat of butter to the center of each squash half before adding filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've used this recipe twice now, and I love it - though I've adapted it a bit each time. The first time, I didn't have celery or carrots, so I just used mushrooms and onions. The second time I also didn't have celery/mushrooms, and I added barley to the mix along with a little bit of ground beef. I also spiced it with cayenne pepper and black pepper. It is delicious even without the cheese on top, and with variations. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Really good. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Kids not so much. Easy to make and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was fantastic! I opted to bake my squash instead of microwave it, 15 minutes did the trick. Then I opted out of the celery, not a fan myself. Next time I'll double the saute however, as I used big squash. I'll definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very, very good! Modified using a reviewers suggestion, of cooking bacon and then sauteed in bacon grease versus using butter. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made it without the celery, since I didn't have any in my fridge and made it in the oven instead of the microwave. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was great! Didn't change a thing and served it for a vegetarian dinner. My husband didn't even ask where the meat was. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
super easy, super yummy. I would substitute olive oil next time -- might have been a little greaser than it needed to be. Otherwise, awesome. I concur that 1/2 of one squash is a perfect main dish for a vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't sure they would turn out as yummy as the photo looked but they did. I didn't have any shrooms so I subbed some finely chopped ham to make it a main dish and added a little garlic as suggested. My only problem was the microwave cook time was too long. Next time I will try for 15 mins. Mine stuck to the glass dish in some burnt spots but it didn't affect the flavor just annoying to clean. I also used half the filling amount as suggested and it was the perfect amount. Half a squash is plenty per person. I served this with Cabbage and Dumplings also from this site and it made for a very filling and delicious meal. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States