Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I had never eaten or cooked acorn squash. I made this with out mushrooms or parsley cuz I didn't have them. I added a pinch ground bay leaves and marjoram. I thought it tasted like loaded mashed potatoes. Next time I'm going to cut the onion in half add cauliflower and bacon bits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Loved this recipe and could serve as a main course instead of a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
As is had to give it a 2 star. Easy enough, but just blah. I will make again using some sausage as others suggested & maybe even a butternut squash instead for some flavor. We liked the idea & simplicity. As others suggested bake the squash, don't microwave - so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My whole family loved this! I was out of parsley and substituted sage instead. They all said it was really good, which is difficult to achieve in my picky family. We have always used butter and brown sugar with acorn squash before, but this allows us to avoid the sugar and enjoy the health benefits of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was a winner with the whole family! No left overs ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was pretty good. The "stuffing" needs to be jazzed up some - pretty bland. As suggested, I am going to try with apples & onions - think the sweetness of the apples will pair well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Ok, so I followed it to a point. I had to sub some lower calorie butter and cheese, but the size of the acorn and the amounts of celery, onion and mushroom were what was called for. But...since this was a dinner meal for us and not a side, I added one link of Trader Joe's Roasted Garlic Chicken Sausage (sliced and quartered and sauteed at the end of the celery/onion/mushroom step). Very good, filling, and satisfying. We'll be doing this again. The recipe, as it is submitted, is a good jumping off point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this recipe last night and loved how simple it was. It turned out great. I added some crumbled sausage to the filling mixture and used some brie for the cheese. Great recipe. Will try it again using different veggies and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Squashes like sweet potatoes have so much more flavor when baked in the oven first, even though microwaving is faster. I tried the recipe as written (besides the baking of the squash and adding minced garlic) and we just weren't real crazy about the dish. I may try again but will try with half the called for onions and add panko and fresh grated parmesan for the topping instead of cheddar as that was the taste we didn't quite like with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States