Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My whole family loved this! I was out of parsley and substituted sage instead. They all said it was really good, which is difficult to achieve in my picky family. We have always used butter and brown sugar with acorn squash before, but this allows us to avoid the sugar and enjoy the health benefits of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was a winner with the whole family! No left overs ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was pretty good. The "stuffing" needs to be jazzed up some - pretty bland. As suggested, I am going to try with apples & onions - think the sweetness of the apples will pair well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Ok, so I followed it to a point. I had to sub some lower calorie butter and cheese, but the size of the acorn and the amounts of celery, onion and mushroom were what was called for. But...since this was a dinner meal for us and not a side, I added one link of Trader Joe's Roasted Garlic Chicken Sausage (sliced and quartered and sauteed at the end of the celery/onion/mushroom step). Very good, filling, and satisfying. We'll be doing this again. The recipe, as it is submitted, is a good jumping off point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this recipe last night and loved how simple it was. It turned out great. I added some crumbled sausage to the filling mixture and used some brie for the cheese. Great recipe. Will try it again using different veggies and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have not tried this recipe, it seems like it might be good. But microwaving the squash ruins ALL the nutrition in the squash, it is literally dead squash. And baking it gives it a nice flavor as well as keeping the nutrients. And don't throw away the seeds. Clean them and roast them for a snack or to put on your salads or soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmuslima64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saarbrücken, Saarland, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Squashes like sweet potatoes have so much more flavor when baked in the oven first, even though microwaving is faster. I tried the recipe as written (besides the baking of the squash and adding minced garlic) and we just weren't real crazy about the dish. I may try again but will try with half the called for onions and add panko and fresh grated parmesan for the topping instead of cheddar as that was the taste we didn't quite like with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We really enjoyed this. I adapted the original recipe a little to fit my style in the kitchen and make it go a bit further. First off, I like to limit my use of the microwave, so I poked some holes in the squash, put it in about 1/2 inch or so of water in a pan, and cooked it in the oven for about 45 minutes (or until easy to slide a knife into) at 375. Instead of serving in the squash, I cubed the squash and served it as part of the other vege's. (I imagine this would be good with butternut as well, if adapted this way.) I added spinach and chicken to the mix as well. Served on a bed of brown rice. Used parmesan cheese, rather than cheddar, as a topping. I increased all ingredients so we'd have a larger amount leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for a savory alternative to the brown sugar/butter recipe and found this. I didn't have any celery on hand so I substituted some frozen turnip greens and added a dash of cayenne pepper. This would make a super holiday dish but is great for every day too. You could even use it as an alternate for a loaded potato. Added bonus, my kitchen smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States