Cheesiest Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Sal, this soup was Really good and fresh tasting. I chopped up onions,carrots,celery and sauteed them off. I added a bit of flour to tighten the soup up a bit. I pulsed the tomatoes just a few times to break them down, not looking for a Totally smooth soup. I did take the suggestion of one reviewer and added a cup of 1/2 & 1/2 to it to make it more creamy. I have never made my own tomatoe soup before and now I will be able to do it again, thanks to you Sal. No canned for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This soup was really good, but I wouldn't go so far as to say it was great. If you're following the 8 serving default recipe, you'll need to add about 3 T sugar to soften the sharpness of the canned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I made this recipe and substituted asiago cheese and it tasted almost like Panera's tomato asiago soup. Excellent! And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I kicked this basic recipe up a bit. I started by sautéing onion,carrot,celery and garlic in olive oil until soft. I then pureed them with some chicken stock and added to the pureed tomatoes. I also dropped the chicken stock to 4 cups and added a cup of heavy cream. I also added 3tbsp sugar and a good shot of Chalula hot sauce. As other reviewers have said, I added the cheese after the soup came to a boil. The cheese blended right in. This is one of the best tomato soups that I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDOG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was incredible, but I used 4 cups water and 2 cubes chicken bullion instead of the broth, and I used 1 1/2 cups nacho cheese and one cube fat free cream cheese instead of the shreaded cheese. I also added a few tablespoons of splenda. It made a huge pot of soup. Way better than Campbells. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Not so good, too tomatoey, perhaps sugar would have helped. Tried more cheese and cream cheese to salvage this recipe but it still didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorane, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Lots of tomato flavor and very easy to make. I used half no-salt added tomatoes and half fire-roasted tomatoes, and that tasted great plus I didn't miss the salt. Like other reviewers commented, the cheese stayed kind of grainy so based on the appearance I probably wouldn't serve it to company. But that didn't bother me and it still tasted awesome, especially with some grilled cheese or breadsticks for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Tomato soup is one of our favorites. we loved this recipe, although we did add 5 tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is only OK. I followed the recipe exactly, and my cheese never melted completely. Taste was OK, but nothing to rave about. I will probably not make this again, I will stick with the Creamy Tomato & Cream Cheese Soup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Delicious! The only problem I had was the consistency; the cheese didn't melt in properly (thus the 4 stars instead of 5). Next time I'll try the suggestion given by other reviewers to bring the soup to a boil before I add the cheese. I did tweak the recipe a little based on the reviews I read. I added about 2T sugar, which seemed to cut the acidity from the tomatoes perfectly. I also used water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth, and I only added about 2 cups of water at the beginning. I added about a cup of half and half to make the soup creamier, and near the end of cooking I added water until the soup looked right. I doubt that I used the full 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States