Cheesiest Potatoes Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I have never made scalloped potatoes from scratch before - now I can't figure out why not. This was an EASY recipe, which you can make to your liking. I made 4 layers, with a different type of cheese in each layer. I had something else in the oven, so cooked it at 350 degrees. My husband had 4 helpings! It turned out a little runny, so I will have to experiment to see if different types of cheese will help there, or more flour. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I was looking for a potatoe recipe yesterday for our dinner. I found this one and I have to say it was DELICIOUS! It is so easy and it turned out real cheesy. I have to admit, when I poured the milk in I was a bit concerned. I told my husband we were going to either have a potatoe casserole or potatoe soup. He said soup would be fine!! It turned out great. Thank you for posting it. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was a great dish that I will definetly make again. I changed it a little because I didn't have enough potatoes. I added fresh green beans, zuchinni, mushrooms and onions in the layers and baked for an hour at 350. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great dish! We baked at 350 as posts suggested. We also covered the top layer of potatoes with a coating of paprika (because we like it so much) and then covered that with the last layer of cheese. It was watery when baked in a two quart casserole so next time we may use a baking pan to cook off some of the excess moisture. This will be a regular side dish from now on! Thanks Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I didn't have any hash browns so I diced up potatoes. Cooked the casserole the same amount of time and it turned out great. I also used sour cream and mayonnaise and a little mild cheddar cheese with the american. We like things a little spicier so I added some cayenne and garlic. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious and pretty easy! But bake at 350, NOT 250. That is definitely a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipie didn't rock my world as I expected from the other reviews. It was cheesy enough. I cooked it at 350, and I still didn't think it was cooked enough. I ended up putting it in the microwave to finish it up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe tasted fine, although it is not very visually appealing. I would never serve it to guests. The flour and cheese got a little lumpy. The taste was good, very cheesey. I will probably make again simply because it is so easy. I also baked at 350 for a little over an hour. I do not recommend putting any paprika on the top layer though, mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
We liked these well enough. They took a lot longer to cook than specified and I took others comments to cover and turn the heat to 350. They were easy enough and just the right amount of cheese. I will make them again adding some seasoning to give them a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I liked this recipe. I shredded my cheddar and added all the flour, paprika, salt and pepper to the cheese. Then I just layered this mixture with the potatoes and poured a cup of milk over it, next time however, I will also add a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I baked mine at 375 in the middle of the oven for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States