Cheesiest Potatoes Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I do believe there is a "typo" - as regards the oven temperature. I tried it at 350 degrees for an hour and it turned out great. This is a good dish and you can any number of your favorites - any color bell pepper, bacon, more cheese or onion. etc. Give it a try. This is now my family's favorite potato side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe tasted fine, although it is not very visually appealing. I would never serve it to guests. The flour and cheese got a little lumpy. The taste was good, very cheesey. I will probably make again simply because it is so easy. I also baked at 350 for a little over an hour. I do not recommend putting any paprika on the top layer though, mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I was looking for a potatoe recipe yesterday for our dinner. I found this one and I have to say it was DELICIOUS! It is so easy and it turned out real cheesy. I have to admit, when I poured the milk in I was a bit concerned. I told my husband we were going to either have a potatoe casserole or potatoe soup. He said soup would be fine!! It turned out great. Thank you for posting it. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I have never made scalloped potatoes from scratch before - now I can't figure out why not. This was an EASY recipe, which you can make to your liking. I made 4 layers, with a different type of cheese in each layer. I had something else in the oven, so cooked it at 350 degrees. My husband had 4 helpings! It turned out a little runny, so I will have to experiment to see if different types of cheese will help there, or more flour. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
At 250, this took considerably longer than the hour in the recipe - total time in the oven was almost 2 hours. I added about 1/2 of an onion finely chopped, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
takes hours to cook at 250. maybe the recipe should say 350 or 450??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was a great dish that I will definetly make again. I changed it a little because I didn't have enough potatoes. I added fresh green beans, zuchinni, mushrooms and onions in the layers and baked for an hour at 350. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This took even longer than an hour in my oven. Next time I will cover the potatoes and cook them on a higher temperature maybe 350. Other than that they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipie didn't rock my world as I expected from the other reviews. It was cheesy enough. I cooked it at 350, and I still didn't think it was cooked enough. I ended up putting it in the microwave to finish it up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I don't know if it is a typo, but 1 hour at 250 F is not enough for this recipe. I tried it and it took at least 2 hours before I could put a fork in the potatoes. Try it at 350 F instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States