Cheesiest Potatoes Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I do believe there is a "typo" - as regards the oven temperature. I tried it at 350 degrees for an hour and it turned out great. This is a good dish and you can any number of your favorites - any color bell pepper, bacon, more cheese or onion. etc. Give it a try. This is now my family's favorite potato side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe tasted fine, although it is not very visually appealing. I would never serve it to guests. The flour and cheese got a little lumpy. The taste was good, very cheesey. I will probably make again simply because it is so easy. I also baked at 350 for a little over an hour. I do not recommend putting any paprika on the top layer though, mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I was looking for a potatoe recipe yesterday for our dinner. I found this one and I have to say it was DELICIOUS! It is so easy and it turned out real cheesy. I have to admit, when I poured the milk in I was a bit concerned. I told my husband we were going to either have a potatoe casserole or potatoe soup. He said soup would be fine!! It turned out great. Thank you for posting it. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I have never made scalloped potatoes from scratch before - now I can't figure out why not. This was an EASY recipe, which you can make to your liking. I made 4 layers, with a different type of cheese in each layer. I had something else in the oven, so cooked it at 350 degrees. My husband had 4 helpings! It turned out a little runny, so I will have to experiment to see if different types of cheese will help there, or more flour. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
At 250, this took considerably longer than the hour in the recipe - total time in the oven was almost 2 hours. I added about 1/2 of an onion finely chopped, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
takes hours to cook at 250. maybe the recipe should say 350 or 450??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was a great dish that I will definetly make again. I changed it a little because I didn't have enough potatoes. I added fresh green beans, zuchinni, mushrooms and onions in the layers and baked for an hour at 350. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This took even longer than an hour in my oven. Next time I will cover the potatoes and cook them on a higher temperature maybe 350. Other than that they turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipie didn't rock my world as I expected from the other reviews. It was cheesy enough. I cooked it at 350, and I still didn't think it was cooked enough. I ended up putting it in the microwave to finish it up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I don't know if it is a typo, but 1 hour at 250 F is not enough for this recipe. I tried it and it took at least 2 hours before I could put a fork in the potatoes. Try it at 350 F instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States