Cheesesteak Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I did not fry them and used chicken cheesesteaks.....just plunked the mix on a toasted roll....the family scarfed em down and was looking for seconds. Chicken cheesesteak is kinda bland....cooking the onion up with it is just what it needed. Instead of dipping in the ketchup I just put the ketchup on the sandwich. Big hit here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
My hubby loves these. They don't sell frozen steak sandwich meat here, and it was really hard to find a meat to use instead. I ended up buying about 6 packs of the thin raw beef used for "rouladen" and seasoning it with salt and peper before cutting into strips. I then put 1 onion, chopped into my slow cooker and topped with the meat and one more chopped onion. Then added a head of garlic, minced mix with 1/4 cup water and a pkg of beef boulion. Then I slow cooked it on low for about 4 hours. Then I drained the juices (saved to make gravy or beef stock for something else) and filled the egg rolls as stated, using cheddar cheese. Then to cut back on fat I baked them at 350 for about 18 mins. Good will do again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Wow, this a great appetizer...the only change I made was to serve it with pizza sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
YUM! I used 3 'Philly style' steaks and added the onion, green pepper and a can of sliced mushrooms. I seasoned it with salt pepper, and garlic powder while it was cooking. I used a combo of mozz. and provolone cheeses. this was super fun and different and we all loved them! Served w/ a side of ranch and 'Roasted Onion Mayonnaise' (from this site) for dipping. Will make again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made for New Year's and they were delicious. Will be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These egg rolls are awesome,and for those of you who don't know how to cook, you have to really drain the grease out of the steam-um's before filling the egg rolls. I also cut up some green peppers & onion and cooked them until they were soft and tender and added them to the meat prior to rolling in the egg roll wrappers. My family enjoyed them and I also carried them to work and they were a big hit. You can use Ketchup or Miracle Whip as a dipping sauce or whatever else you might like to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was wounderful! The family loved it! I never heard of this before and I went to the store and got the ingredients spring roll skin was all I could find. I also used steak ums from the freezer aisle at frys. I added green pepper some jalapeno and salt pepper garlic salt to the onions. I used pepper jack cheese and provalone sandwich the meat mix in the middle of the cheeses. Then fryed it. we use aujus for dip it was great! The family ravedddddd about it! They went back for more! This is something great for house party we are loving it and give it thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Perfect for football Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Yum! I added mushrooms, used mozzarella and used spring roll wrappers but however you do it, you can't go wrong! I had at a restaurant before and they definitely compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I rate this recipe 3 stars as written. I added mushrooms and bell peppers to my meat and I rolled in spring roll wrappers. I also baked them instead of frying. I dipped them in a ketchup/mayo dip and they tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States