Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T. However I had mixed reviews from everyone at the table. Hubby liked it, my kids were harder to please on this dish...but the one thing they agreed on was they didn't care for the bread crumbs. Maybe use a lot less then a whole cup. And maybe Panko bread crumbs. The bread crumbs could have soaked up too much of the creamyness to this dish. 1/2 cup or less probably would have been fine. And the kids didn't care for the kielbosa in it either...which I found to be strange because they love kielbosa. I thought it had a nice flavor overall, but agreed to much bread crumbs. If the kielbosa would have been left out I feel they would have enjoyed it better. One child, who will eat almost anything, said it tasted funny and doesn't want me to make it again...Hubby wants it again. So this review on rating it has been very difficult. I will say I'll attempt it again, with some different modifications, to see if it suits everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Wonderful! I am very picky about my Mac 'n cheese and this was great! My kids panicked about the kielbasa at first, but they liked it once they tasted it! I did use a blend of sharp and mild cheddar cheeses to tame the flavor for us. The only change I will make for next time is to use about 1/2 of the bread crumbs. They were way to thick for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAFFELDT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was ok..I was expecting more rich cheese flavor..Instead of cubed cheese, I would use shredded..The cubes make the prep time way too long..Otherwise, it's just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I used a package of little smokies instead of kielbasa. Also added some cheeze whiz and shredded cheddar cheese, istead of the cubed to the rest of ingredients. Forget the bread crumbs A dash of lea and perrins, soy sauce, a few chopped green onions, mushrooms...optinal...the more cheese the better....this was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My whole family liked this one but I think I would use about 1/2 the onion next time rather than the whole thing. Also i shredded the cheese rather than cubing it because I find that it melts into the roux easier and more smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was ok but wasn't very cheesy and I added extra cheese to it. Next time I will add a cheese like velveeta to help make it creamier and cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This turned out pretty well. I suggest using less bread crumbs or mixing them in rather than just putting on top. Also, the more cheese you use the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This mac and cheese was very good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Very good recipe but I did not add the onions. Otherwise I would not change it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Okay, kids thought it had to much onion.I really enjoyed it. I agree with the other reviews about to much bread crumbs. I think next time I will omit it and just put shredded cheese on top. I also used shredded cheese instead of cubed. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States