Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
YUM! this was amazing. i altered it a bit but the sauce was such a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knottyrye

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I'm giving this a 5 to be fair since I changed it right from the first time. I was in need of just a macaroni and cheese recipe (without the meat) and this I thought this one would be just as good even without the meat! Anyways, my changes are that I never do put it in the oven. We eat it straight from the stove top, just like boxed mac and cheese. I do not use the onion because my kids and I wouldn't eat it that way. I DO use onion powder though. I just don't want any other textures in my mac and cheese and either do the kids. I also add 1 1/4 tsp ground mustard. This is an awesome recipe and I'm sorry I tweaked it right from the get-go. I really KNOW it would be fabulous with the kielbasa and I do want to try that some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This recipe was tasty and perfect for a mac and cheese craving from a very anti "cheese powder" or "cheese food" cook. I omitted the sausage only because I am not a big meat eater and shredded the cheese from a fresh block I picked up at the farmers market. Also- I used whole wheat pasta and it was just as tasty as the white stuff. One tip my husband gave me was to warm the milk before adding it to the butter/flour and this seemed to help make it smooth and easy to mix. I didn't measure the breadcrumbs, just eyeballed what looked to be a good amount for my taste across the top and that worked perfectly. Craving kicked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was good...I used weiners instead and my 2 1/2 yr old granddaughter loved it...This is a keeper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I love this! I have made it twice now and it's so delicious every time. Only make sure you work in the flour good, because once I think I didn't integrate it well enough and the cheese mixture tasted just a bit "floury". Oh... and it takes a bit of time! More than 20 minutes for me at least. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaun Holdaway
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a very tasty, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for baked mac and cheese. I make it plain sometimes, and other times I add smoked sausage (that's what's in the oven right now). I use a combo of cheeses, too. Colby jack and cheddar is good. I did use a whole box of macaroni (this one was a little over 14 oz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I douubled all the ingredients, and used 2 8 oz. bags of shredded Cheddar cheese, instead of cubed. VERY tasty! Kielbasa and mac 'n cheese go very well together. Doubling the recipe filled up my 9 x 13 lasagna dish, and I had plenty of leftovers (which, by the way, tasted great both hot AND cold the next day). And, don't skimp on the Panko breadcrumbs! Sprinkle them on heavily, and bake until they turn a dark golden brown. They add alot to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This is delicious!! I've made this several times now and took it to a luncheon where the women all raved about it and went for seconds (something I've never seen them do!) I will admit I was a bit leary of actually putting in the kielbasa, but now that I've tried it my husband won't have it any other way. I use the regular polka kielbasa, and I also use half an onion, and 2 bags of shredded cheese----one is sharp and one mild. My family prefers it w/out the bread crumbs. This dish is a keeper! It's a part of my normal rotation now...and this comes from someone who always hated homeade mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States