Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was super yummy but here are a few things I did differently. I am a mom, work and go to school, so speed is the name of the game. While some things I do believe need to take time, I think some processes here can be sped up. So 1. I made sure to use the smallest onion I had after reading reviews. 2. I cooked my pasta al dente so it wouldn't need 20 minute bake time @350. 3. After incorporating over low heat, I brought temp up to a med-med high and added the pasta/kielbasa mix, salt and peppered, got up to hot temp. And finally 4. I topped with bread crumbs (I did not measure, I just dusted as there were complaints of the bread crumbs soaking up too much of the sauce) and then broiled it until brown and crispy. I think the broil function is a vastly underused feature. Viola. We all loved it, hubby was mad there wasn't more left when he got home from work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This didn't come out as creamy as I would like a mac and cheese, but it was still okay for dinner. We just used the grease cooked off the sausage instead of butter for the roux and added a crushed clove of garlic, along with dashes of mustard powder, paprika, thyme and marojam for flavor. Only used 1/2C crumbs with some parsley for the topping; any more than that would have been way too crusty. As it is, if we were to make this again, we'd cut the flour to 2T, as we could taste flour more than the cheese in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Made for the family for a Christmas get-together and everyone had second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My husband thought it was ok but I would not make it again. The kielbasa was a great addition but the cheese did not come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is a great base for a recipe but I have adapted it to be Gluten Free. I omit the onion and add garlic instead, cornstarch instead of flour and quite a bit more cheese. I use GF shells instead of macaroni noodles. I also use GF bread crumbs, shredded cheese and a little cajun seasoning for the topping. This results in a nice crunchy top. My family loves this recipe and can't even tell it's GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was an excellent, hearty meal for the whole family. Everyone enjoyed this which is unusual. I used 8 ounces of sharp cheddar and 2 ounces of Yellow American. It made a great combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
As a college student who cooks for friends mostly, & occasionally family, this was a big hit. So much so that my friends asked me to make it again. I did modify the recipe some with turkey kielbasa & some pepper jack cheese on top of the sharp cheddar for some spice, but still a big hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I should have listened to my instincts and not added the bread crumbs. One cup is entirely too much! It gave it the texture of sand. Maybe if you left them off it would be okay. I can't speak to the complaints about the onions that other reviewers mentioned because I left them out believing that onions don't belong in mac and cheese. Very disappointed especially when the photo looks so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Like others I read, this dish received mixed reviews in my house! I did a full batch plus another half. I used less than a cup of bread crumbs (Italian flavored). The kids were okay with it, hubby was so so, and I liked it. I think next time I will use Panko as suggested in another review and mild cheddar or maybe even colby jack. All in all it was a new dish and that was what I was going for :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda K. Nelson
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Yummy! I used cracker crumbles instead, also used hotdogs (we didn't have kielbasa in the house that night). I used cheddar and pepperjack cheeses - it could have used more spice to it. Will try again and add some flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States