Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Pretty good. I liked it, family said OK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Best ever! Much better idea to blend the cheese this way first. I was raised with a recipe that just dumped the chunks of cheese in with the pasta and milk. Invariably, it separated and looked unappetizing. Hubby says the sausage makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
skipped the breadcrumbs and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Did this without the kielbasa, just the macaroni part. Was quite surprised with how tasty it was, for being quite a simple recipe. I added some crumbled bacon on the top with the bread crumbs, couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Just what I needed for supper tonight! We're huge cheese lovers, so I used about 16 oz of shredded cheddar & jack cheeses. Also, for the bread crumbs, I always make my own by lightly toasting a few slices of bread and buttering them on both sides, before crumbling atop the macaroni. Some other users might want to try that, if they don't like the dry bread crumbs. Additionally, this can be made with whole wheat flour, instead of white flour, if desired. We tried it that way and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
My kids loved this macaroni and cheese. This is like a "kicked up" version of macaroni and cheese with hot dogs. I used turkey kielbasa to cut back on some of the fat, and it turned out fabulous. No complaints from the family, and that's what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I have now made this dish 3 times and each time it came out wonderful. The only substitution I used was bacon in place of the kielbasa, only because we never buy kielbasa. But I think that the next time I make this I will use kielbasa instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
GREAT! I did half the kielbasa and I used the turkey kind. It was enough for my family. I also left some cheese cubes whole and tossed them in at the end so we got gobs of cheese. I didn't have any bread crumbs so I used crushed ritz crackers. My husband raved about it (and he never does that!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I had a little trouble getting the flour/milk/butter mixture to thicken in the time stated on the recipe, but it ended up working out. My only real beef with this recipe was the dry bread crumbs on top. I think they needed to be mixed with some kind of fat - whether cheese or butter. Plain dry bread crumbs on top resulted in a dry and sandy texture on top rather than that crunch I was looking forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATHOLIC75
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is an excellent base recipe. I did not have kielbasa, and after reading the reviews, I was not sure if there would be enough cheese sauce for all of the items with the kielbasa. I made the recipe mostly as is, except I added four bacon slices (diced) and a little parsley. The macaroni was so cheesy, as there was plenty of sauce minus the kielbasa. And, I did not add a full cup of bread crumbs. I thought it would be too much. Instead, I added crumbs from 4 Ritz crackers. Great recipe. I may try the kielbasa in the future if I increase the cheese mixture too. ***I made it a second time with kielbasa, and whoa!! What a difference, it was delicious. I increased the sauce by 50% to make sure that there would be plenty of sauce with the sausage. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States