Cheesecake Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TexasIsLove89
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made these for my co-workers and they were a huge hit!! So delicious! I added a drop of lemon extract to the cheesecake mixture to give it an extra kick. I also took the advice of another reviewer and made a sweetened sour cream topping (1 cup sour cream, 1 drop lemon extract, 3 tsp. confectioner's sugar) along with a blackberry sauce ( 1 pint blackberries, the juice and zest of 1 lemon, 2 tbsp. sugar-- simmer on the stove 5 minutes). Really amazing flavor and a very refreshing treat! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is my go-to cheesecake recipe-fresh and light and yummy. Once I didn't have the lemon and left it out, but I have to say that it's so much better with the lemon juice and zest, like the recipe states-great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These were delicious and got rave reviews at the football party. I halved the recipe and used an 8"x8" pan, lined with foil, and sprayed with nonstick baking spray. I added about an extra 1/3 tsp. lemon zest, 1/8 cup lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp flour. I suggest not pressing the crust all the way up the sides of the pan as the tops of the edges burn and I had to cut that part off. I would bring it halfway up next time. The crust also softens and is a bit cakey with the lemon filling. Still tasty; I was just expecting a firmer shortbread type crust. I will definitely make this recipe again and again to bring to occasions as it was a crowd favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
We loved these. My middle son (who doesn't like sweets) ate half the pan. I halved the recipe and used an 8" square pan. I did up the lemon juice and zest. Yummy, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This. Was. Awesome. If you use real lemons, it is perfectly lemony. Don't put the crust up too far on the sides. If it sticks up over the filling it gets dark. Not a bad thing... It just does. . I found it impossible to get the bubbles to skim but it didn't make a difference. Do not panic when you go to put the cream cheese layer on top of the completely liquidy lemon layer. Just finagle it around til it covers the best you can. When it bakes it separates like it should. I won't lie... This did not turn out as pretty as the picture with the 2 perfect layers but my guests at Christmas were fighting over who got to take the leftovers home. DEEE-lemony-licious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Everyone at the potluck loved them. I fallowed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was a huge hit at our house. I am a novice and found it easy to make. As others suggested I upped the amount of lemon zest and added lemon extract to my cream cheese layer. I also put a top layer of sour cream mixed with confectioners sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I was so excited to try these based on the reviews, but I was so disappointed! The crust pretty much disintegrated into the lemon layer and became nonexistent. So the bars stuck pretty bad in the pan even though I put down heavy duty foil and sprayed the foil. Also the cheesecake part wasn't very good and the textures of the layers are so different it's weird to eat - the cheesecake is creamy, the lemon/crust layer was more chewy. Also they baked uneven, I started at 30 min and the middle was still very underdone even though 3 of the sides were done. I increased by 5 minute increments and I think I ended at 45-50 minutes. Even when done and cooled there was no way to cut these and have them be pretty. If you do attempt these, don't worry about the layers, they will separate like the other reviews say. Also definitely use a different crust, maybe a graham crust would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
As always, increase the lemon filling quantities for more tartness and volume (general rule seems to always apply). I appreciated the combination recipe, and think the flavors complement one another. It was helpful to know I could do this in two bakes, not three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States