Cheesecake Chewies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I'm rating these 4 stars because of the way the recipe is written. I've been making these with the same ingredients in different amounts for years with excellent results. The bottom layer should only have 1 egg and end with a very thick consistency. You should not be able to pour it. It has to be spread into the pan. The top layer should have no butter in it, which is probably contributing to the burning. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, then start checking it. Depending on your oven, it will only take 25-30 minutes and will not look "done" when you take it out. These set up considerably after sitting! If you let them bake until they appear done, then you've probably already ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
have done this recipe twice, I read the reviews so first time cooked it in a fan forced oven at 180dg, covering it with tin foil, removing it at the last ten minutes second time in a water bath at the same temperature but added a extra 10 minutes, still covered it with tin foil, removing the tin foil ten minutes or so before the end, it is a custard based cake so burning is easy, in the water bath no hassles, base & side were golden brown, no charring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Way too sweet for me. My children enjoyed it. The description in the recipe as well as the photo are accurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
One of our family favorites now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. Everyone was complaining about how eggy the cake tasted. I highly recommend not making this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I cooked this at 350 degrees instead of 375 and it did not burn. Next time I am going to try this with a chocolate cake mix instead of the yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Yes i also had that problem with the timing thank goodness i kept checking on it or else mine would of been burnt also. Their good after being in the fridge but the outside gets too hard and just have to keep checking on them if your not wanting to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I made this on the spur of the moment for a family dinner. These were very good. They almost have the consistancy of a brownie. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBourgeois
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This recipe is the best. I received rave reviews and many requests for this recipe after making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBourgeois

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
Always use a non coated pan when making this. Grease the pan with Crisco shortening. This is a wonderful recipe and serves a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States