Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
doubled the recipe to fit in a 9x13 but didn't triple the filling and I think it is fine that way. I wanted a nice bar not a huge bite of cheesecake. Added blueberries and raspberries for a 4th of July look and used a graham cracker crust. I will try the crust in the recipe next time though. Oh and it definitely is lemony (which I like but others may not so I would cut that down if you don't like a lemony flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this using flax meal instead of flour and coarsely chopped almonds, resulting in one of the best crusts ever. We added chopped fresh cherries and whole blueberries and baked the filling about 40 minutes. This was easy and is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zocoma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Made this as stated with two exceptions- I used light cream cheese and omitted the lemon (for no other reason than I didn't feel like having a lemon flavor that day!). I didn't find the filling sweet enough at all! It was quite sour and disappointing. And, as other reviewers stated, the filling is thin. I would have doubled it as suggested, but didn't have enough cream cheese on hand. The crust was delicious but a little bit crumbly, even after 24hrs in the fridge. I will, however, make this again because it was SO easy, and believe it can be delicious by implementing a few easy changes-- next time I will double the filling and increase the sugar by one and a half times, and make sure to use regular full fat cream cheese. For the crust I think I'll decrease the flour a bit- to 3/4c- and hopefully it will stick together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I like the recipe and I use it often. I tripled it and made it into a lovely cheesecake with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
i really enjoyed them! i didn't have any lemon juice so i used lemon extract. it added a very interesting lemon twist. great recipe! keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
The recipie has no break between the crust ingredients and cake ingredients, and so I mixed the flour into the cake(i made a differant crust)...it did not work. I am giving this 3 stars because I think it would have tasted good-had I not added the flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Herr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I made these when we had unexpected company and the cupboards were almost bare. Delicious! I didn't have the walnuts, but it still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sukhailah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I'm sorry to say I found these pretty bland. I didn't deviate from the recipe either. The crust was ok but needs some "oomph" and it really felt unnoticeable because of the blandness of the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I found this recipe so so. Only thing I changed was since I don't like nuts of any sort I substituted the walnuts for oats. The Lemon flavor was too strong for me to be a "subtle" taste in the cheesecake that I was hoping for. Might as well call them Lemon Cheesecake Bars or decrease the lemon juice by half at the least. I saw all the recommendations to double the filling or else it would be thin so I promptly IGNORED those suggestions and made it as is because I'm not trying to gain weight. Thinner was better for ME personally. But am warning others, the filling for this isn't much more than half an inch thick. And that was me making it in an 8 inch round cake pan. I'm giving it three stars for good texture and decent taste, was nice and creamy, but not sure if I'll be making this again personally. However, if YOU want a plainer really quick (in preparation) dessert, go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States