Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I have to agree that you need to double the filling for this. I made two 8" pans with on batch of the crust recipe, the first I only used one a single batch of the filling and it was very thin. The second I doubled it and it came out better. I did not use the lemon in mine. I do however like the addition of the walnuts in the crust. I will add that after they sat in the fridge buy the second day they tasted much better. The crust softened a bit and they tasted more like real cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
doesnt make as much as the recipe says.. I multiplied it 5x and made 36 of them in cup cake tins. everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Tastes pretty good. Doubled the recipe and baked in a 13 x 9 pan. Don't love the walnut flavor but don't hate it either. Hubby does not like the walnuts. Next time I will double the filling. 10/20/11 Came up with a pumpkin version that is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I feel that this recipe doesn't compare to real cheescake. I'm not sure if it lacked sugar but it just wasn't that sweet. I followed the recipe as written. The batter tasted so good until I baked it and let it cool. It just wasn't as good as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BN61079
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Not bad. Cheesecake flavor in an easy to make bar. I wasn't overly fond of the pastry bottom, or the filling itself, as it was not as rich and decadent as a good cheesecake is. I did double the filling- and thank god I did because it still didn't seem like enough- I can't imagine how thin these bars would have been as written. My advice- don't make them without doubling the filling! Were they easy- yes! And that was their saving grace. I needed a dessert in a hurry, and they did come out of the pan beautifully. I served them drizzled with a Mango sauce which helped dress them up. A good recipe in a pinch, but not as satisfying as a real cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
delicious! i put strawberry slices on top, great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
this is excellent! I've made them many times now and they're always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
These are actually really good and really easy and they do taste like cheesecake. However, I don't know what recipe they were using when they took those pictures because the tops of mine were yellow! I also agree with the other people about doubling the filling. They're good if you are craving cheesecake but don't feel like making it. I wouldn't take them to the office or anything because they don't look like cheesecake with the yellow. As well as the one following the recipe, I made another one with tofutti cream cheese and soymilk and it was just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
It was very hard to make these look pretty. It was not easy to remove them from the pan, and when you did, they were impossible to get out with beautiful even sides like the picture. I didn't have lemon juice on hand, and without it, it was very bland. They weren't bad, my friend actually loved them, but I will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachcook623

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were dekicious ! The crust was much better than using graham cracker crumbs as a lot of recipes do. I did not change any of the ingredients at all except that before baking and before sprinkling the reserved crumb topping on I drizzled some seedless red rasberry jelly (my favorite) on the top and swirled it through the batter with a knife. I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States