Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is the same recipe my grandmother uses, but she usually uses a can of cherry pie filling and refridgerates before cutting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This turns out fabulous each time I make it. I have even bumped the number of servings up to an insane (100+) amount and made it in a 9x13 pan for my teenaged daughter's birthday party/sleepover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louann in Texas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These were just okay. Certainly not anywhere close to the best cheesecake I've ever had. I did not care for the crust and it was really hard to cut. Graham cracker crust is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
doubled the filling but not the lemon juice. really yummy crunchy crust! has been a big hit when I make it! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
They were good, but its not "new york" style cheesecake. I think that's where people are expecting something other than what it is. But it does taste like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
The taste is great. It does need double the filling though. Nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I did not make the bars, I used a store bought shortbread pie crust instead. I doubled the filling and after it cooled I topped it with canned cherry pie filling. This turned out so good, very creamy! I did not find the lemon to be overpowering and the crust was a good contrast with it's crunch. I will be sure to make this again, so many ways it can be changed. Fresh berries on top also would be very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Definitely double this recipe if using an 8" pan! In order to fill a 9 x 13" pan and have plenty of the cheesecake filling, I quadrupled the filling ingredients and it still came out well. The only change I made while mixing such a large batch was to use only 2 eggs. Previous reviews mentioned that it would be too "egg-y" otherwise. The crust is a nice change from the usual graham cracker or cookie crumb crusts. Of course, the baking time for the filling was also much longer because of the greater amount. We topped it with cherry pie filling, but I would love to try this with mini-chocolate chips or a raspberry swirl. This recipe is one I'd make again when a cheesecake craving hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Candia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Raymond, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
good recipe, i didn't have enough cream cheese to double as others recommended, they're fine as is. i added 2 Tbsps sour cream to my mix & used chopped almonds instead of walnuts. i really like this isn't the typical graham crust base. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodwiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
For this recipe to be successful one must follow these three main rules: 1) Double the filling - When doubling the ingredients double all ingredients except use one egg to avoid an eggy taste. 2) Refrigerate for atleast three hours before consuming. Taste great when you make it in the evening and consume it the following afternoon. 3) this recipe makes 36 cubes not bars lol. The cubes are great for appetizers. This recipe was great except I used whole wheat flour and crushed almonds. Instead of butter I used peanut oil which gave the crust a nice nutty taste. I also used organic soymilk and omitted lemon juice due to the recommendation of others. I intend to use this recipe repeatedly it was simple quick and delicious. Also very economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States