Cheeseburger and Fries Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
The only alteration I made was to prebake the fries as others suggested. I thought this was awesome! My kids picked at it but they are very challenging kids in terms of being picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieWilson6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty darn good! Based on some reviews I made some changes: substituted the golden mushroom soup with tomato, added some shredded cheese to the meat, and topped with tater tots that had already been cooking about 10 minutes. I did not experience the blandness issue that some had, but I think that was due to the tomato soup, which was a stellar suggestion. It tasted sorta like a less spicey, cheesy sloppy joe. I gave 4 stars because my daughter (5) didn't like it much. She ate all the tots but didn't like the meat. Husband hasn't weighed in, yet. Also, because it's not all that convenient - next time I will make the meat stuff on the stove and the tots in the oven, and just plate them together. I'll let you know how well it reheats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe and so did my son. My husband said it was a little bland, but tasted ok to me. My husband did however eat leftovers of this (he hates leftovers), so well done!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumYumYum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
LOVED IT!!! But I did switch out the cream of mushroom for tomato soup. I also like many others cooked my fries for 10min before putting them on the meat mixture and will probly even cook them longer next time because I like my fries crispy. It's something different and easy! And my husband loved it... as did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a good "kid Friendly" meal. It was easy to prepare, it tasted pretty good. I do recommend adding a lot of seasoning while cooking the meat,and I also agree with pre-cooking the fries...it definitley made them crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
this was good sort of greasy but good next time I may drain some of the grease of the casserole have way through cooking. Seasoned steak fries work the best no sogginess here. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is definetly a keeper with the following changes. Since no one else in the house will eat mushrooms I used 2 cans of cheddar as others have done. I put lines of ketchup and mustard on top of the hamburg soup layer. Then the almost done extra crispy fries and and tore up 4 pieces of the already cooked bacon and then the cheese. Only things I would change next time is use 3 pds of hamburg because one can of soup is not enough but 2 cans is just too sloppy for 2 pds. And I would put the meat/soup/ketchup/mustard/ in the oven to heat well before adding the french fries and cheese. The hamburg didn't seem hot enough for us till we got it dished up and sat down to eat. IF you want to re-heat it next day put it in the oven covered with foil. Others have complained it got soggy re-heating it and I bet they tried to use the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Kind of bland but easy dish. I substituted cream of mushroom for the golden mushroom as others said (and because I didn't have golden mushroom). Took advice of cooking fries first and they were good but the dish was missing something. May try to make again once I figure out how to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I didn't add the cream of mushroom soup. I used only 1 pound of meat with i can of cheddar cheese soup. I did bake my fries beforehand. My ENTIRE family loved it. My husband was skeptical because really, it doesn't look all that great. But after having a helping, he asked for seconds and thirds. Most importantly, my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Quick and Easy and kid friendly. I did make a few changes like others have listed. I pre-cooked tater tots. I did not use cream of mushroom soup and used 2 cans of the cheese soup. I used minced garlic when frying the meat and onion and added the salt & pepper then. I only heated the casserole enough to melt the cheese (only about 1 cup) b/c everything was already hot and I had a lot of cheese in the meat mixture. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Perucki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States