Cheeseburger and Fries Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
We loved this, and we don't have any kids. There are a few things I did differently though. First, you MUST bake your fries for 10 mins. This prevents them from becoming soggy and watering up your whole dish. Second, I don't agree with the mushroom soup, because your typical cheeseburger doesn't have mushrooms. I think that's what made others' taste "off". So I substituted tomato. As visually unappealing as it was, the combo of these 2 soups was oh so good. I also use Campbells Healthy Request soup and lowfat cheddar because I'm on WW. Should you do the same, you'll need to season the beef a little bit with salt, pepper and garlic powder (I have them all mixed together in a shaker. 1/2 tsp should do it.) to compensate for the lower sodium. My husband said it was surprisingly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Update: I made this a while back and had no golden mushroom soup, so I used 3/4 cup lite sour cream. It was delicious! I've also used nacho-cheese soup in this recipe, and it is also great. My family prefers tater tots to fries on this casserole, and I always bake them until they're crisp before putting them on the casserole. Original review: My kids really liked this. They gave it a five. I'd give it a three and a half if I could, but rated it a four because the rest of the family liked it. I didn't change anything except adding garlic, oregano, a little worcestershire sauce and cayenne pepper, but the next time I make it, I will make some changes. For example -- next time, I'll pre-cook the fries. Though I bought the extra-crispy version, the fries were soggy. I'll prebake next time, and might use waffle fries instead of regular, or even the extra-crispy tater tots. The bottom line with this recipe is that it's a plain, easy week-night meal that won't threaten your kids. UPDATE: I made this again last night, and the changes I made improved it vastly -- I prebaked OreIda's Crispy Battered Fries for almost thirty minutes on 425, so they were nice and crunchy. This cut down on the cooking time of the entire dish, as I only had to melt the cheese rather than wait for the fries to bake. I subbed nacho flavored cheese soup for the cheddar, and added a dollop (about a quarter of a cup) of sour cream to the meat mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
Mmmmmm..very good! I took another's advice about blandness due to not enough seasonings so I was VERY generous. I added about/more 1 1/2tsp salt, 2 tsp pepper, 1 1/4 tsp garlic powder to ground beef mixture and than added a dash of salt and pepper to the fries before placing in oven. End result was delicious!! We served with ketchup at table, and my fussy 3 & 6 yr old's ate seconds! Must admit, I was very unsure about the end result due to the odd mixtures and about all the reviews about blandness, but it was very simple to make and a big time family pleaser, just don't be shy with the salt, pepper and garlic powder. Thanx for sharing Bettina!! Our family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was a great, kid friendly meal. I only used 1 pound of meat and then used cream of mushroom soup instead of golden mushroom. I also added a can of green beans and a can of corn so we'd have our veggies in there! I baked the fries for about 10 minutes before adding to the top of the casserole and they came out nice and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I just found this recipe online but I have been making something similar to it for awhile now. I always add minced garlic to my ground beef and onions while cooking. Also, I buy the seasoned steak fries and they are NEVER soggy. I think it depends on the fries you buy on whether or not they turn out soggy. Also, I have always used 2 cans each of the cheddar cheese soup and the golden mushroom. I just made it for my in-laws Saturday and there wasn't anything left and they wanted me to cook it again and it has only been four days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Very quick and easy dish. I served it with ketchup for the kids. Next time I will add extra cheese soup, it just wasn't cheesy enough for my tastes. Also I will cook it longer next time, my fries came out soggy but tasty nonetheless. This is a good recipe to whip together after a hectic day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Super, kid-friendly meal. The key is seasoning your ground beef properly. If you're saying this recipe is bland, it's probably because you didn't add enough salt, pepper and garlic to your meat. Also, it's great with ketchup and mustard - added at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! I did add a drained can of corn and also of green beans to it to make it an all in one dish but I have to say my kids ate it and that doesn't happen aften!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My family loved this recipe. They suggested using different types of frozen potatoes each time we try it to see what our favorite might be. I used shoestring this time, but think I will try tator tots next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
I cooked this one night for my boyfriend and I and it was AWFUL! The recipe was easy enough, but it was very bland and had no taste. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States