Cheeseburger and Fries Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was great! I made this for 4 servings because I was cooking for two. The only change I made (intentionally) was using condensed tomato for the mushroom soup. The (unintentional) change I made was not using any cheddar cheese. If you want a healthier option, definitely do not use the cheese - it's absolutely not needed! Things I would change next time: Mix in green beans and corn to make it a bit more filling, and I would also cook the fries a bit longer before putting them on the meat mixture (or maybe cook them separately the entire time since I won't be putting cheese on them anyway.) All in all, this was fantastic, and I will definitely be cooking it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Delicious when using 1tsp of garlic, salt and 1/2 tsp pepper, as well as the addition of drained canned corn and green beans. I've made this twice already! Took other reviewers' advice and baked fries ahead of time. I noticed while adding the golden mushroom and cheddar cheese soup that the combination of these 2 soups with the ground beef and pasta would be a tasty and easy alternative to Hamburger Helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great for the Kids. Added a bit of Chili Pwdr for a kick and took this to a family reunion and NO left overs. That speaks for itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
A good combo and worked well for the family! :) The kids enjoyed it as much as we did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenners
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was so delicious! I made a few slight changes to this recipe just based on what I had on hand. Here is what I did: I browned the ground beef in the skillet, then added about a tsp of Lipton dry onion soup mix (b/c I was out of onion) and mixed that around really well. Then I added 1 can of cream of mushroom soup (not golden, b/c I didn't have it) and about half a jar of Cheesy Ragu double cheddar sauce. I let that start to bubble then added a couple dashes of garlic powder. I transferred the mixture to a casserole dish and layered with frozen tator tots across the top. I put it in the oven at 450 degrees for about 20 min, adding shredded cheddar cheese to the top for the last 2 min. The tater tots were the perfect crispness and not the least bit soggy. I have had that can of cream of mushroom soup forever b/c neither I nor my husband particularly like it. I was afraid to use it for this but decided to give it a shot, and I'm very glad I did. The flavors mixed perfectly togther. We were both surprised at how yummy this easy dish was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Walton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I was very suprised at how delicious this recipe was. I followed the directions and used the specified ingredients and I actually found it very salty. I also added some chopped bacon with the soups because I like bacon on my cheeseburger and I chose the SUPER crispy fries and layered them with the shredded cheese so the steam could escape and they were not at all soggy, they were crisp and perfect! I will definately make this often! Next time I will try replacing the mushroom soup with tomato, just to have a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed this ! I used chopped red onion, added a few squirts of hot sauce just for a bite and added a cup of shredded cheddar to the mix. I then topped with crispy crowns vs. frenchfries. Once the crispy crowns were cooked, I topped with a cup of shredded cheddar and baked until melted. Very fun, comfy food ! (Almost forgot,, I used cream of mushroom soup and seasoned with McCormick California Garlic salt- has parsley added)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
this was good ,i fix this with frozen california blend vegatables.i put the vegetables on top of the meat then the fries or tots and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this for my husband and two boys...they liked it, but didn't think it was very special. I on the other hand thought it was easy and quick to throw together I also tasted it and it was pretty good to me. Tastes like cheese fries. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Man

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
The only alteration I made was to prebake the fries as others suggested. I thought this was awesome! My kids picked at it but they are very challenging kids in terms of being picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieWilson6

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States