Cheeseburger Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was a nice filling soup for a cold night. I threw in 3 cups of rice instead of two and the soup was very thick and chunky. I also had to sub cream of chicken soup for the cheddar cheese soup, but it still turned out nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I decided while cooking this that I'd tweak a few things to both add flavor and make it more "cheeseburgery". First I added Lawry's seasoning salt to the meat while it was cooking because my mom always added it to her homemade hamburger patties when I was growing up. I threw in some minced garlic with the meat and veggies as well. Since I didn't have celery (and don't eat it on my cheeseburgers anyway), I just added some celery salt for the flavor, as well as chili powder. Used cream o' chicken soup and frozen veggies since it's what I had. Went lighter on the velveeta and milk (about half), but added some shredded mild cheddar (which I also put on top w/ the sour cream/chives for garnish). And since my idea of a really good cheeseburger includes dill pickles, I added 4 teaspoons of PICKLE JUICE for an extra tang. I personally think this was the perfect touch. So yummy - thanks Charlotte for the great idea for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I was really nervous to try this and boy was I relieved when it came out absolutely terrific!! Subbed Rice a Roni (without the seasoning) for regular rice and canned corn for mixed veggies. Coupled with a salad, what a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I was very disappointed in this recipe after the rave reviews. It wasn't horrible but we felt the soup was very bland and runny. I'm not even sure its worth trying to fix up. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I made thie soup in the crock pot at my camp ground, before long other children were coming around asking if we had any left over.. I did use the baby carrots instead of the sliced...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was deeeeelicious! Made a few changes, though. I love Johnsonville Italian sausages, especially made as a "burger" with cheese dripping from it. So, I used mild Johnsonville Italian sausage in place of the ground beef in this soup. I also chunked my celery, carrots and onions instead of chopping them. Oh, so good! If you love sausage, try it in this recipe. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I loved this soup. I made some changes based on what I had on hand. I substituted the can of mixed veggies with a can of rinsed and drained black beans. I added a clove of chopped garlic, deleted the celery and added twice the carrot. I used a can of papper jack cheese soup rather than chedder cheese soup. I also added about a tsp of chili powder because I think it needed a little extra kick. Great recipe and I will make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Yum! I made this for dinner, gave some to my neighbors and my mom. Everyone raved and wants the recipe. A good "stick to your ribs" kind fo soup. Very easy too. This will become a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I was looking for something simple and filling to bring to work (and make use of a bunch of ingredients I had lying around), and this fit the bill. Delicious! I made a LOT of changes based on the ingredients I had available. I sauteed the onion separately, then substituted 2 cups frozen peas & carrots mix and a 12oz can of whole kernel corn in place of the fresh carrots and canned veg mix in the recipe. I left out the celery entirely. I also threw in about a teaspoon of minced garlic. Velveeta costs more than real cheese in my grocery store, so I substituted 250 grams of shredded cheddar and an 8oz brick of cream cheese. Used 3 cups cooked rice instead of 2. Added 1 tbsp Worcestershire, 1/2 tsp liquid smoke, and 1 tsp crushed chilies for seasoning. I ran out of room in the pot when it came time to add the milk, so that got left out. Made for a nice, thick, incredibly cheesy soup. Only thing I would change further is to increase the amount of ground beef to 2 lbs. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe, Charlotte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
A quick, easy, tasty comfort meal! I did try a couple of time-saver steps - I used my handheld grater to shred my carrot, celery, and onion, and I started my broth with veggies while also browning my beef. I also made my ruce and kept it separate, just ladeling the soup over a bowlful to serve. Feel free to add your own favorite seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States