Cheeseburger Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My mom made this for us when I was growing up and it's still a favorite. I've made my own modifications, though, which make it even easier. 1) Instead of Velveeta, I buy a bag of shredded Mexican style cheese. Bags of shredded cheese are typically 8 oz. on the nose. 2) Instead of shredding carrots myself, I buy them pre-shredded. Quantity should be somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup. 3) Cut the butter in half, reduce the flour to about a tablespoon, and use ground bison instead of beef for a lower fat version. 4) Soy milk subs for the regular milk just fine. 5) Occasionally, I'll reduce the potatoes and make up the difference with cauliflower. 6) This is where it gets blasphemous: After you brown the beef, just dump everything but the sour cream into a crock pot and let it cook on low all day. That butter/flour bit? It's all just going to melt into the soup anyway! I swear it comes out the same and it's a lot less work. Sour cream should be added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
AWESOME!!! My husband always raved about a Cheesburger Soup he eats at a local restaurant during his lunch breaks, so I decided to find a recipe. I used this one and the only changes I made were that I used fresh peeled and cubed potatoes rather than hash browns and I added more meat. He said it was better than any he's ever had! I had never heard of Cheesburger Soup, but you can bet I, too, am a fan now. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Made this tonight and the family really enjoyed it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, was because I had to guess at the type of hash browns that it was supposed to have (I used the Simply Potato Shreds that are found in the dairy aisle) Very quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Great Soup! We loved it! I cooked the beef & drained. Then I added the beef, chicken broth, 2 c. of beef broth (I omitted the milk), vegetables, potatoes & spices.(I shredded my own potatoes.) I did not use any margarine. I thickened the soup & added low-fat Velveeta cheese. Using fat-free sour cream this makes a Weight Watchers entree worth 5 points if you make it for 7 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This was SO good! I was really surprised at how this turned out... not at all what I was expecting... much better! I followed the recipe exactly, except for omitting the milk because I was out. I think next time I will skip the flour because it was almost too thick. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
While this is not exactly gourmet cuisine (come on, it has Velveeta!) it is really delicious. It's wonderful creamy comfort food for a cold day. I added a dash of cayenne, and didn't have the sour cream, but I'll add it next time. I also made it in the crockpot, sauteeing everything first and then tossing it in. Everyone loved it, even my hates-everything five year old. This dish will be a new regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I MADE THIS RECIPE FOR MY DAYCARE CHILDREN AND THEY LOVED IT!! IT WAS DELICIOUS WITH HOMEMADE BREAD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This soup was pretty good. I did make a few changes, I sauteed the beef with garlic, worcestershire and dried parsley to give it some flavor. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese and completely omitted the milk, which left the soup thick and stew-like. I served it with cornbread and we all enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
For what it is, a simple comforting soup, it is very yummy. I used shredded cheddar and swiss instead of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrington, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy and yummy- two of my favorites!! I made it in the slow cooker. I did change the proportions a bit, mostly because I did not want a lot of ingredients left over. I used 4 cups of hash browns, and 4 cups of chicken broth, and 16 oz of velveeta (can you even buy only 8 oz?) I also just added whatever sour cream I had- think it was about 1/2 cup. I really don't think you can go wrong with these ingredients. We ate it with sister schubert rolls and garnished with sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States