Cheeseburger Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
very good. left overs (if any HEHE)is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thanatos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reddick, Illinois, USA
Living In: Essex, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very good comfort food. Excellent soup for a cold winter's day. I used the frozen shredded hash browns and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Love It! Added 3-4 more carrots, used 3-4 stalks celery, shredded hash browns, and about 12 oz. cheese instead of 8 oz. Served in sour-dough bread bowls from St. Louis Bread Co. (Panera) My family loves it and we get in all our veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
My mom used to make us triple batch pots of this soup in the winter, it was everyone's favorite. I followed this recipe exactly but I found after I added in my browned meat and hash browns there was no moisture (liquid) left in the pot. I had to add an extra 1/3 C. chicken broth and an extra 1 C. of milk. Even after adding that, it was still a very thick soup! However, the taste was great, almost like my mom used to make. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was a hit. Only things I did different were to start the veggies and add the meat to the same pot - veggies stayed in while the meat browned. And I added one handful of shredded cheddar at the end. Thick, yummy, and filling. Tastes nothing like a cheesburger, but more like meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have made this many times over the years and my family absolutely loves it. Great comfort food on a cold winters night. When I make it for our church's soup suppers it is always one of the first soups to go. We have had families whose kids "don't like any kind of soup" love this and look forward to having it on the menu . My recipe calls for 1 quart of peeled, cubed, fresh potatoes, but when I make make 8-10 times that amount for church it is wonderful to use the southern-style (diced) frozen hash browns potatoes(shreds are too small).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
lowered the stars due to calories and appearance. would be better with broccoli added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
My mom made this for us when I was growing up and it's still a favorite. I've made my own modifications, though, which make it even easier. 1) Instead of Velveeta, I buy a bag of shredded Mexican style cheese. Bags of shredded cheese are typically 8 oz. on the nose. 2) Instead of shredding carrots myself, I buy them pre-shredded. Quantity should be somewhere between 3/4 and 1 cup. 3) Cut the butter in half, reduce the flour to about a tablespoon, and use ground bison instead of beef for a lower fat version. 4) Soy milk subs for the regular milk just fine. 5) Occasionally, I'll reduce the potatoes and make up the difference with cauliflower. 6) This is where it gets blasphemous: After you brown the beef, just dump everything but the sour cream into a crock pot and let it cook on low all day. That butter/flour bit? It's all just going to melt into the soup anyway! I swear it comes out the same and it's a lot less work. Sour cream should be added just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Not bad. Used peeled cubed potatoes. Simmmered til tender. Added just a tbl or two of sour cream and more broth than milk. Still quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out excellent. It got great reviews from hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States