Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy Carnes
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Because I commute 1 hour each way to work, I simplify this recipe. I also use more ground beef, 1#, I buy the cubed hash browned potatoes in the freezer section, along with the frozen diced onions. I use whole milk, and make this recipe as stated. I shave lots of time from assemblage with the 'easy' ingredients. Very hearty, creamy, filling on a cold winter's night. My family loves this, we have been making it for about 5 years now, I was surprised to find it on this site. To thicken this use potato flakes, it works great! The potato flakes make it a richer, thicker soup with substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
673 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe was okay (as it was written)...I am only giving it 3 stars because as it is written, I do not love it. But after changes were made it was a pretty good cold day soup. I did not use the celery or carrots, that is not on a cheeseburger. I used beef broth instead of chicken broth and the second time I made it I used velvetta instead of cheddar. Cheddar does not get that creamy when melted. I am going to try a pasta in it next time instead of the potatoes. All in all, good basis for a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I was frantically searching for a similar recipe featured in one of the first editions of Taste of Home. It's my husband's favorite, and I lost the recipe! I couldn't get it quite right until this one! I also add one seeded, minced jalapeno, crumbled bacon, and some cayanne to the adult's portions. He thinks I found the original recipe, but this one's even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I'VE MADE THIS SAME SOUP FOR YEARS. THE KEY TO MAKING THIS IS TO ADD THE FLOUR/BUTTER MIXTURE TO THE VEGGIES AND COOKING ON MED. HIGH FOR TWO MINUTES BEFORE ADDING THE MILK. THE KIDS LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I really liked this soup. The only thing I changed was adding two cloves of chopped garlic, some fried bacon and Valvetta vs cheddar. I also used frozen cubed hashbrown potatos only because thats what I had. To the person who said they didn't add the celery & carrots because thats not in a cheeseburger, no wonder you gave it only 3 stars. This is soup, not a cheeseburger and virtually every good soup starts with onions, celery & carrots (and garlic in my opinion). I served this to a group of 6 guys during a fishing trip and it got 12 enthusiastic thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ely, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
We absolutely LOVE this recipe. I have made this for my husband and I several times. I make it just as the recipe states and it turns out perfect every time. I use my food processor to chop the veggies and it makes the soup a perfect consistency. You may like to experiment with different chesses and you might want to add alittle more hamburger to it... but I don't think it's that necessary. I always double the batch and freeze half for a later date. It reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I would give it a 6 if i could--- Everyone loves this soup. I use shredded cheese instead but I've made it more than once and it is perfect! It makes more than enough for our 3 person family. And it warms up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
As is, delicious but very watery, which isn't what I'd imagined while drooling over the recipe. TRY THIS: the second time, I doubled the cheese and beef (ground steak, instead) and added the potato as pre-cooked and prepared mash half-way through - this was a thicker, silky-textured chowder which is much more what the title evokes. (NB use fresh flat-leaf parsley and fresh basil, as dried parsley is one of the most tasteless and pointless of dried herbs :-) ) I was also inspired to abandon the soup idea and make it as a kind of cheese con carne, served on the plate risotto-style (slightly down-sized the seasoning to avoid it being over-rich). Its worth a try! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is my family's favorite soup~hands down. I make it often. It is time-consuming to make all at once so sometimes I prepare the vegetables a day ahead and refrigerate them until needed. I also use frozen hashbrowns in place of the potatoes, to save time and because they are the perfect size. This soup is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This soup is so velvetey smooth and delicious. I did do it alittle different though. I made mine in a crock pot so what I did was: cook the hamburger in a skillet and when that was done I quickly put all the vegetables (onions, carrots, celery and potatoes) in the skillet with the flour, butter and some of the chicken stock to deglaze. After a few minutes I put the hamburger, vegetables and chicken stock in the crock and let cook all day. Then about 1/2 hour before we ate I put the cheese, milk and sour cream in the crockpot and let melt/cook. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 831) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States