Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy Carnes
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Because I commute 1 hour each way to work, I simplify this recipe. I also use more ground beef, 1#, I buy the cubed hash browned potatoes in the freezer section, along with the frozen diced onions. I use whole milk, and make this recipe as stated. I shave lots of time from assemblage with the 'easy' ingredients. Very hearty, creamy, filling on a cold winter's night. My family loves this, we have been making it for about 5 years now, I was surprised to find it on this site. To thicken this use potato flakes, it works great! The potato flakes make it a richer, thicker soup with substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
663 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Carnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Malvern, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This recipe was okay (as it was written)...I am only giving it 3 stars because as it is written, I do not love it. But after changes were made it was a pretty good cold day soup. I did not use the celery or carrots, that is not on a cheeseburger. I used beef broth instead of chicken broth and the second time I made it I used velvetta instead of cheddar. Cheddar does not get that creamy when melted. I am going to try a pasta in it next time instead of the potatoes. All in all, good basis for a very filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
441 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I was frantically searching for a similar recipe featured in one of the first editions of Taste of Home. It's my husband's favorite, and I lost the recipe! I couldn't get it quite right until this one! I also add one seeded, minced jalapeno, crumbled bacon, and some cayanne to the adult's portions. He thinks I found the original recipe, but this one's even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I'VE MADE THIS SAME SOUP FOR YEARS. THE KEY TO MAKING THIS IS TO ADD THE FLOUR/BUTTER MIXTURE TO THE VEGGIES AND COOKING ON MED. HIGH FOR TWO MINUTES BEFORE ADDING THE MILK. THE KIDS LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I really liked this soup. The only thing I changed was adding two cloves of chopped garlic, some fried bacon and Valvetta vs cheddar. I also used frozen cubed hashbrown potatos only because thats what I had. To the person who said they didn't add the celery & carrots because thats not in a cheeseburger, no wonder you gave it only 3 stars. This is soup, not a cheeseburger and virtually every good soup starts with onions, celery & carrots (and garlic in my opinion). I served this to a group of 6 guys during a fishing trip and it got 12 enthusiastic thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ely, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
We absolutely LOVE this recipe. I have made this for my husband and I several times. I make it just as the recipe states and it turns out perfect every time. I use my food processor to chop the veggies and it makes the soup a perfect consistency. You may like to experiment with different chesses and you might want to add alittle more hamburger to it... but I don't think it's that necessary. I always double the batch and freeze half for a later date. It reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I would give it a 6 if i could--- Everyone loves this soup. I use shredded cheese instead but I've made it more than once and it is perfect! It makes more than enough for our 3 person family. And it warms up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
As is, delicious but very watery, which isn't what I'd imagined while drooling over the recipe. TRY THIS: the second time, I doubled the cheese and beef (ground steak, instead) and added the potato as pre-cooked and prepared mash half-way through - this was a thicker, silky-textured chowder which is much more what the title evokes. (NB use fresh flat-leaf parsley and fresh basil, as dried parsley is one of the most tasteless and pointless of dried herbs :-) ) I was also inspired to abandon the soup idea and make it as a kind of cheese con carne, served on the plate risotto-style (slightly down-sized the seasoning to avoid it being over-rich). Its worth a try! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is my family's favorite soup~hands down. I make it often. It is time-consuming to make all at once so sometimes I prepare the vegetables a day ahead and refrigerate them until needed. I also use frozen hashbrowns in place of the potatoes, to save time and because they are the perfect size. This soup is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This soup is so velvetey smooth and delicious. I did do it alittle different though. I made mine in a crock pot so what I did was: cook the hamburger in a skillet and when that was done I quickly put all the vegetables (onions, carrots, celery and potatoes) in the skillet with the flour, butter and some of the chicken stock to deglaze. After a few minutes I put the hamburger, vegetables and chicken stock in the crock and let cook all day. Then about 1/2 hour before we ate I put the cheese, milk and sour cream in the crockpot and let melt/cook. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States