Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is THE recipe for this hearty soup. My very minor modifications: 1 tsp Worchestershire sauce, 3 cups of beef broth instead of chicken, 1 tsp garlic salt, and fresh ground pepper. I left out the celery because I didn't have any. A technical note - I made my white sauce (butter, flour and milk) in a separate sauce pan and added it to the soup, so there wouldn't be an un-cooked flour taste or lumps in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clark Chesser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This soup is good but does not remind me of a cheeseburger in any way. The potatoes are front and center and the beef and cheese are a second thought. It is good though. I followed it to a T and it was just right in consistency and was satisfying for a cool night. But Cheeseburger soup it is not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I just made this soup and it is so good! I made it as written except I chopped the carrots instead of shredding them and I used 8 oz. Velveeta instead of cheddar. Will definitely make again. I may use another cup of broth because the cheese makes it pretty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
So dang delicious! I also used 1/2 Velveeta and 1/2 shredded cheese because it's what I had on hand. Otherwise, super good, rich and creamy. The husband absolutely went wild for it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HolidayRobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I thought this was good, but not great. In defense of the actual recipe, I did use mostly lower-fat versions of many items (Low-fat mild cheddar, 1% milk, ground turkey, etc). Next time I'll choose a different cheese and I"m sure it will have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was better without the carrots or celery. I also added garlic and salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was a good recipe! My son loved this soup - he is a teenager. I added jalapenos at the end as garnish. He even took it in to school for his German club party and the kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
We made this for dinner last night. My whole family liked it, it was hearty, satisfying and tasty. I used some velveeta with the cheddar because I needed to use it up. Very good main course soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
We didn't really like this much. Not sure whether it was the texture or the taste, or both; perhaps it would work better with a less finely ground beef. Doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
My husband really enjoyed this soup. I have a corn chowder recipe with meatballs that uses cheese whiz. I have been trying to find a recipe using real cheese. This fits the bill well and I don't have to make meatballs. The only changes I made were to double the ground beef and I halved the potatoes and used corn for the other half. My husband thought adding some green beans would also be a nice addition. This is not a healthy soup and I will not make it often, but I know it will be a nice comfort food when the need arises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States