Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I was a little "iffy" about this recipe. Amazingly, it turned great! Followed exactly the way it's written and kids each had 2 bowlfuls! Made it on a cold, blustery day...and bellies were warmed and full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Definitely a good staple for the cold months. I put in 1 lb of ground beef to make it meatier, and used hash brown potatoes as others had suggested. Other than that I followed the recipe to the tee, and there is plenty left over. I would serve it with a pasta dish, personally, but it is also good alone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
As written, pretty bland especially with mild cheddar. Tried it again with some changes, of course, and much better. For speed followed other reviewers and used frozen onion and O'Brien potatoes plus medium cheddar and a squirt of chunky garlic paste. Still pretty blah, so added a good measure of Montreal Steak seasoning - that did the trick! Also did not heat with sour cream, instead served a dollop of that in the soup bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
AMAZING. I adjusted the recipe to 11 servings so I could use a 4 cup box of chicken stock and one pound of ground beef. I added two minced pickled jalapeños and used a handful of fresh chopped parsley, 1 Tbsp. Minced fresh thyme and 1 tsp. dry basil. To save some of the fat content, I just added the flour to the sautéed beef and vegetables to make my roux, no butter and a big splash of red wine to deglaze the pan and the milk after a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have already reviewed this soup as written but I have found that by adding some more veggies and meat and using a slow cooker I can make an exceptionally cheap, easy, nutritious meal that requires little of my time and is a good way to sneak veggies into my grandkids although it probably can no longer be called "cheeseburger soup" by the time ive made my modifications, I hope some others will find my additions useful to them. I start by sautéing one bag of frozen bell pepper/onion mix in a little oil until soft. I then add 1lb of lean ground beef and brown that. I pop it into a slow cooker with some diced potatoes and carrots, a can of chopped green chillies, a can of diced tomatoes and 2 cups of beef broth and cook on low for 6-8 hours. I add shredded 2% reduced fat sharp cheddar and cook on high for about 15 minutes to melt. I notice that many are using velveeta but for myself anything that is called "cheese food" is so altered it is just a chemical laden glop in the mix. That's just my opinion. For thickening I like to mash a few of the potatoes in the soup. After putting each serving in the bowl I top with a little more shredded cheese and a dollop of light sour cream. As a distance runner, this provides me with excellent nutrition that is easy on my wallet and my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Fantastic. Like most, I doubled the meat. My 3 year old granddaughter had 3 servings and asked me to give the recipe to her mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I added the two cups of cheese, and it still looked a strange gray/brown color and tasted like watery roast beef. I ended up doubling the cheese, and it looked and tasted better. Next time I will add more onions. Overall a very good place to start and easily adjusted to your tastes. My family didn't like it, but I'm keeping it to take to pot lucks and such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyaun Regan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Excellent soup! I used stew meat (boiled until tender) instead of hamburger & I thickened mine w/ cornstarch & a little water. Also, I used beef broth, since that is what I had & just slightly less than 2 cups of cheese for our preference, & a little cayenne pepper. The sour cream was a nice touch. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Love it! Only changes were to use frozen Obrien potatoes and used a third of a stick of Velveeta instead of cheddar. This soup was outstanding. Mashed up some of the potatoes to make thicker. Great fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annpp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States