Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great starting point and a very forgiving recipe as far as playing with the ingredients. My family likes it, but I've made some changes. I decreased the amount of bread crumbs by half so it doesn't taste like meatloaf. I added bit of salt and increased the onion since my family isn't crazy about peppers. I put more tomato sauce in and added some chopped dill pickle. I also added garlic powder to give it some additional flavor. I also add some mustard to the filling, about 2 tablespoons. This makes it taste more like a hamburger. The topping is good, although I do add a bit more Worchestershire Sauce since I think it adds some tang to the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
One of hubby's favorites. I use refrigerated crust and pre-bake for about 5-8 minutes before adding meat mixture. Add more tomato sauce and omit sauce. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is delicious and I would definitely make it again! The only change I made was that I used puff pastry instead of a pie shell. Only one change I would make: as much as I love cheese, I would probably cut back & maybe use only 1 cup instead of 2. It does sort of taste like a meatloaf, but it's still very good & maybe kids who wouldn't normally eat meatloaf, might eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great meal idea. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
my whole family loved it! and were picky eaters..i skipped the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love this recipe- I have been making a variation for years. I also add dried mustard to the topping and sub ketchup for the tomato sauce. I also like to add a little oregano to the ground beef just for personal taste. Very filling easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
definitely meatloaf pie not cheeseburger pie. it was good, but i probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
VERY nice dinner alternative to cheeseburgers or meatloaf. The eggy layer with cheese really takes it to another level. I tried another Cheeseburger pie recipe here, and it was fine, but this was much yummier. I used pre-made puff pastry dough for the crust, and added a little extra pepper to spice things up a little. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made this one last night. I took some of the tips off of other reviews. Added some garlic while cooking the meat mixture and added a can of drained Rotel when adding the tomato sauce to meat. Also served with sliced jalepenos! Good stuff and enough leftovers for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is definitely quick and tasty! I didn't really follow the recipe... I used Lipton onion soup mix in my ground beef, added Rotel tomatoes and ketchup to the mixture. The family LOVED IT! My son said this is his next favorite dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Browns Mills, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States