Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
A lot of people are mentioning that this is underseasoned. I think the recipe is oddly worded, as 1/4 TABLEspoon is a weird measurement, I don't have any fractions of tablespoons on my measuring set. I suspect many of the home cooks inadvertently used 1/4 teaspoon instead. Everywhere that it says 1/4 tablespoon, use 1 teaspoon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I scaled this down to 6 servings and made the following revisions; I didn't add green beans or peas, instead just a half can of corn, a half can of black beans, and 1 sm can tomato sauce with 1 can water. I simmered seasoned meat/veg mixture 10 min. then used about 1 T flour the thicken the remaining mixture. I made only the top crust and it was plenty but I overbaked, forgetting my scaled down ingredients. I should have taken it out maybe 5 minutes earlier since the crust was a little too done. Still tastly though!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I think this recipie is great! It is a wonderful way to use leftovers. It's a sort of mix between shepherd's pie and pot pie. I took other members advice and only made the top crust. I threw in frozen veggies and used fresh tomatoes. I also added a couple of bouillion cubes and some water. I didn't have any baking mix so I made my own crust. Delicious!Thanks for a great recipie J'Teena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
We enjoyed this but, next time we would eliminate the bottom crust and just put the top crust on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Way too much crust!! This recipe was way too dry, and filling was very bland. Did not like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
It was good. Did not have all of the ingredients, but was still good. We used 8oz tomato sauce (no tomatoes), 2 cans of corn (no peas), and just topped with potatoes (no crust). I will make again when I have all of the stuff. Makes a great shepperd's pie this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I'm glad I tried this recipe. I made a different shepards pie-type recipe before, and it didn't turn out well, so I was a little nervouse about this one. I used frozen vegetables and added a little ground red pepper and garlic salt to give it more flavor. I also used chedder cheese instead of american.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
My family and I thought this was bland. I liked the idea of it but it needed something. I fixed it exactly as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
as is this recipe is very bland.next time i will add some gralic and try a different type of chesse. my family didn't think much of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My bunch really enjoyed this recipe. It really does make a lot, but you really can't have too much. Tastes just as good warmed over later. I added some sharp chedder cheese. The one complaint I got was the WHOLE tomatoes, I will use the chopped can of tomatoes when I cook it for church Sunday. I may get brave and add some sour cream with the potatoes to give it a perk!! There was alot of crust, but I like that. Made it really pretty, too. I suggest to those who don't like much crust to just make less crust. I like crust of the top and bottom. Just grease your dish with butter or spray and it won't stick. I think this is so far the best recipe on this site I've come across so far... but I have plenty to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States