Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
A lot of people are mentioning that this is underseasoned. I think the recipe is oddly worded, as 1/4 TABLEspoon is a weird measurement, I don't have any fractions of tablespoons on my measuring set. I suspect many of the home cooks inadvertently used 1/4 teaspoon instead. Everywhere that it says 1/4 tablespoon, use 1 teaspoon instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I scaled this down to 6 servings and made the following revisions; I didn't add green beans or peas, instead just a half can of corn, a half can of black beans, and 1 sm can tomato sauce with 1 can water. I simmered seasoned meat/veg mixture 10 min. then used about 1 T flour the thicken the remaining mixture. I made only the top crust and it was plenty but I overbaked, forgetting my scaled down ingredients. I should have taken it out maybe 5 minutes earlier since the crust was a little too done. Still tastly though!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I think this recipie is great! It is a wonderful way to use leftovers. It's a sort of mix between shepherd's pie and pot pie. I took other members advice and only made the top crust. I threw in frozen veggies and used fresh tomatoes. I also added a couple of bouillion cubes and some water. I didn't have any baking mix so I made my own crust. Delicious!Thanks for a great recipie J'Teena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
We enjoyed this but, next time we would eliminate the bottom crust and just put the top crust on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Way too much crust!! This recipe was way too dry, and filling was very bland. Did not like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
It was good. Did not have all of the ingredients, but was still good. We used 8oz tomato sauce (no tomatoes), 2 cans of corn (no peas), and just topped with potatoes (no crust). I will make again when I have all of the stuff. Makes a great shepperd's pie this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
I'm glad I tried this recipe. I made a different shepards pie-type recipe before, and it didn't turn out well, so I was a little nervouse about this one. I used frozen vegetables and added a little ground red pepper and garlic salt to give it more flavor. I also used chedder cheese instead of american.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
My family and I thought this was bland. I liked the idea of it but it needed something. I fixed it exactly as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
as is this recipe is very bland.next time i will add some gralic and try a different type of chesse. my family didn't think much of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
My bunch really enjoyed this recipe. It really does make a lot, but you really can't have too much. Tastes just as good warmed over later. I added some sharp chedder cheese. The one complaint I got was the WHOLE tomatoes, I will use the chopped can of tomatoes when I cook it for church Sunday. I may get brave and add some sour cream with the potatoes to give it a perk!! There was alot of crust, but I like that. Made it really pretty, too. I suggest to those who don't like much crust to just make less crust. I like crust of the top and bottom. Just grease your dish with butter or spray and it won't stick. I think this is so far the best recipe on this site I've come across so far... but I have plenty to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States