Cheeseburger Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I did my first loaf after reading all the reviews and my husband loves it. I'd like to suggest letting the loaf sit for 15 minutes before cutting, this will prevent oozing of the cheese. When I made it the second time, I dicovered a way to simplify the rolling process and had great success. I divided my meat mixture into 3 batches and cheese into 2 batches (like a lasagne). Fill the bottom of a 9x13 dish with the 1st batch, then sprinkle cheese on top, avoiding the edges. I then pat the 2nd batch on top, taking a little care to seal the edges with a spatula. Cheese on top of that. Finally, the 3rd batch of meat on top of that, sealing the edges again. I then sprinkled ketchup and mustard overall. It came out tasting the same as the recipe indicated, but saves much time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
761 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe! I only gave it 4 stars because I found the "jelly-roll" effect to be more trouble than it was worth. Instead, I just half the meat mixture and make a channel for the cheese down the center and then top with the remaining meat mixture. It is much more simple and it isn't as messy! Tastes fantastic as is or is easy to jazz up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chapin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Delicious! Here are a few of my suggestions - to avoid the grease problem - use super lean beef - I used 95% lean, it wasn't greasy at all... also, I used mozzarella in the middle (part-skim). It was perfect! And, for those of you watching calories/fat, it's pretty friendly, only 3 WW points per slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
We loved this, I did add some Montreal steak seasoning and worcestershire to it and topped it with barbecue sauce. I didn't have any wax paper, and parchment made it really easy to roll up. There was one spot where I didn't seal it well, so the cheese goozed out. I also baked it in a loaf pan and periodically drained the grease and let it sit for 15 minutes to ease in slicing it. Thanks Douglas, this was a winner in our house! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
I was very glad I'd read the reviews on this recipe beforehand or I might have throw up my hands at the rolling it up stage. It's tricky, but doable with some patience. I used foil instead of wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Very good meatloaf recipe. I added 1/4 cup of worchester sauce, and 1/2 cup bell pepper to the mix for alittle more flavor. Also I subsituted the shredded chedder with Sargentos mexican cheese blend. The guys at work LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2000
I am not a meatloaf fan but this was very good. Didn't taste like meatloaf. The taste was very good. I had a hard time rolling it like a jelly roll. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Wow! Even my 5 yr old liked it. It really reminds of a MacDonalds' cheeseburger. I thought it was good and will make it again. I halved the recipe & used very lean ground beef, american cheese slices, and 1 tablespoon worchestshire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Excellent!! Tasted exactly like a cheeseburger. Could be used for potluck. Great with barbeque sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
I scaled this recipe down to 2, left out the egg and it still came out good. I did have a little "oozing of the cheese" and it was a little greasy, so next time I will use sirloin & fat free cheese. I did add a little thyme & a dash of crushed rosemary to the loaf. Good change from the normal meatloaf as well as burger. Thanks Douglas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States