Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
As the creator of this recipe I just can't stop changing things! The zucchini I use is about 12 inches long, the size makes a big difference on the amount of stuffing you have. I just started using Morningstar Farms Burger style Grillers Veggie Recipe Crumbles (in a bag)in place of the sausage. Excellant! Also, even easier to throw everyting in a bowl, mix it and then stuff the zucchini. I cut out most of the salt too. Just sprinkled Season All on the squash before adding stuffing. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRAMARIE
Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Very tasty! I'm sure this is the best of the stuffed Zuc recipes on here. Instead of Colby, cottage, and italian cheeses, I used about 1.5 cups of mozza and 1.5 cups of cheddar, and a few tablespoons of parmesan. Turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
great taste. I modified it by slicing the zuchini and laying them in the bottom of a 13x9. Then layered the other ingredients on top. Could reduce the amount of sausage by half and not effect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I love stuffed zucchini recipes and this one looked really good and close to what I had on hand. That being said I changed it so much I'm not even sure it's the same recipe but it inspired me! Here's what I did and it was amazing: browned 1 lb sausage in a pan and set aside. Sauteed half a red onion with 2 tsp italian seasonings and a shake of garlic salt. When they were almost cooked I chopped up the inside of the zucchini that I scraped out and sauteed until soft. I added about a cup of precooked brown wild rice, the sausage and about 1/2 cup chopped fresh cherry toms and cooked until heated. I stirred in 1 cup shredded cheddar and filled the zucchini boats. Then I grated parmesan on top and baked. We had extra filling that I saved to use in omelets or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This was FANTASTIC!!! I varied it by cooking the onion with the sausage. Brought it to a party the 1st time I ever made it and everyone raved about it...then asked for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
we had a 21" zucchini that was 14" around and the stuffing was just the right. Had to use a huge roasting pan and cooked it about 5 min more. It was terriffic and a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I followed the recipe precisely, with the exception of using shredded mozzarella in place of the italian blend cheese. It's a great combination of flavors with the zucchini. My husband's only criticism was, "too much italian spices". I agree - next time we'll cut that in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I.ve no doubt this recipe will taste very good as it is baking as we speak. However, I read and reread the recipe as I found it strange that you could pop the zucchini in the microwave and cook it for 5 minutes with out piercing it or something...well I took you at your word. Needless to say there was no need to remove the seeds after cooling...the microwave took care of that when the end exploded off. Bit of a mess but next time I will pierce the vegetable even if it doesn't tell me to. Live and learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHI4002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
A VERY GOOD dish. With an overabundance of squash, this is my summer to have a Zucchini dish nearly every night! We don't mind! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. No changes needed to be made. I will make it again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious!! I used two fairly large zucchini and over-stuffed them. It was the perfect amount. My husband enjoyed it also! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deonza Melton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States