Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was alright, but nothing special. The cheeses pretty much overpowered every other ingredient in the recipe. I think par-cooking it in the microwave made the zucchini too mushy. This recipe would probably work well if you're trying to hide vegetables in a meal for someone who doesn't like them. I do like vegetables, so I will not be making this recipe again. This ingredient combination, in my opinion, does not serve to accentuate the flavor/texture of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Nothing great. Microwazing the zucchini is unnecessary! I did and it started to make sounds so I started to turn the zucchini every 30 seconds and after being in the microwaze for 3 minutes it exploded!!! Yeah! What a mess!! And the secound zucchini ( the one that I did not precook) was not that great. My boyfriend didnt care for the zucchini part and hes the zucchini lover. Wont be making it again. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culinarychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is delicious. The only changes I made was I cut down on the amount of Italian seasoning,and I boiled my zucchini halves for a few minutes instead of microwaving them. It tastes a lot like lasagna. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I also added mushrooms. Very good recipe, and easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Excellent! I used 3 medium sized zucchini and had the perfect amount of filling. I used our favorite Italian sausage from the local butcher and only used 2 eggs. I think I might try it with only 1 egg next time actually. Sooo good. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent! I bought a 2lb zuke at the farmer's market and wasn't sure what to do with it until a friend suggested stuffing it. I found this recipe and voila! I'm vegetarian so instead of sausage I used about 1 1/2 C TVP reconstituted w/ 1C veggie broth (with 2T Bragg's). I then sauteed with the onions and two cloves of garlic and mixed in about 2T of my husband's homemade pasta sauce, just to give it some more flavor. It ended up meshing very well with the other flavors. Instead of the cheese listed I used what I had on hand -- 1 C cheddar, 1 C mozzarella, and 1/2 C fresh grated parmesan. It was so cheesy and delicious! The only thing I would do differently next time would be to broil it for only a couple of minutes. One of the zukes ended up blackened on top, but it was still edible and still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I didn't have cottage cheese so the 3 eggs were a bit much. however my 15 year old son said it was "the bomb"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simply.tracyscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Very yummy! I added more cheese to the recipe, cause we are cheese lovers. Also had a ton of the topping leftover and just threw it all on top of the zucchini - kinda making it a casserole. Because of the depth I had to bake it longer than expected (about an hour instead of the 40 min). But my husband and 18 month old LOVED it...had leftover whice were AWESOME for DAYS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KailsRocks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Delicious! I used breakfast sausage, mexican zucchini (they're fatter - more room for filling), omitted the cottage cheese because I didn't have any, cheddar/jack blend, and added mushrooms and a lot more onion. My kids complained about the zucchini until they tasted it, then had seconds and asked me to make it again. This time I'm adding a few bread crumbs to help soak up the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This dish is amazing! I had so many zucchini from my garden, we needed different ideas on how to use them up. I made this several times. I put extra filling in a separate casserole dish and baked it along with the zucchini. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcoop3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Zucchini are stuffed with sausage and topped with tomato sauce and melty cheese.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States