Cheese and Pasta in a Pot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
You can vary this recipes ingredients and still come out with a delicious casserole. Instead of all sour cream, I combine 1 cup sour cream with 4 oz. creamed cheese and only 1 lb of ground beef. Instead of the tomatoes and spagetti sauce I use two 8 oz. cans tomato sauce seasoned with garlic, salt and pepper. This is a great husband pleaser and the kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This was a very time and kid friendly meal to put together. Nice and comforting on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
OMG! A few modification because I didn't have the exact ingedients a viola...5 stars! I didn't have any tomato sauce but I did have Mrs. T's Bloody Mary mix (slightly less than called for). I also only had various cheeses to equal the amount necessary (pinconning, provalone, mild and sharp cheddar shredded and slices of Munster for the top layer. I also used a penne rigate pasta instead of elbow. Holy smoke WOW! I can't wait to have it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was really good. I did make a few changes. Instead of stewed tomatoes I added a can of diced italian style tomatoes and I left 1/4 of the juice for the flavor, this added to the sauce made it even better. And at the end I removed the foil to let the cheese get golden brown on top. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACIA70

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
overall this was pretty good! I left out the mushrooms (husband doesn't like mushrooms), and used tomato sauce with spices instead of a jar of premade sauce because I didn't have any on hand. The only criticism was that it was a little dry ... i probably would have added even a little more sauce to the mix. Still a great recipe though! definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elyseholly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was really good! But I changed several things and I liked it allot so I'm going to list what I did for 2 reasons: So you can see what I did and I want to remember this when I go to make this again (I will make it again!) Also for those of you with the thought that if you change a receipe up too much, you might as well post your own...well, I've tried that for yrs and have yet to have one of my submissions posted. So, this is my outlet: I used 12 oz. of lrg elbow mac and 4 oz. of a mix (which included Shells, Penne, and Spirals.) I liked the variation that some of the other shapes provided as they all hold the sauce a little differently. I wouldn't do the whole thing in a mix, but this way you ran up on another shape every other bite or so. I didn't use spag sauce, but used 1 can of stewed tomatoes and 2 cans of petite diced tomates and seasoned it myself with basil, oragano, parsley, white pepper and a few red pepper flakes (maybe more garlic than called for). I let that simmer for about 1/2 an hour. I also cooked the meat, onions, and garlic all together then added my tomatoe's, seasoning, and mushrooms. This made for a really tasty sauce, which I think is a big factor in the overall recipe. After I completed the layering process, I topped it off with a little bit of grated - extra sharp - cheddar cheese. The boldness of the cheese, but not overwhelmingly so added a nice finish to the pasta dish. If you don't like cheese - this isn't the dish for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This has become my husband's favorite. Sometimes I make it the day before because we always think it's better the next day. Made two pans of it for a birthday party, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I really liked this one, but it has some of my favorites in it....mushrooms and sour cream....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
There are so many variation to this recipe. I've tried them all! I love them! This is a pretty good one. If you need something to feed a crowd, this is it! I'd say it makes more like 12 servings, than 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
We thought this was pretty good. I decided to make it easier on myself and just brown the ground beef, onions and mushrooms all together in a Dutch oven (which meant I could skip the oil). I used 1 lb. ground beef and 8 oz. fresh, sliced mushrooms. I also subbed a can of garlic and basil Ro-tel for the tomato sauce. It took a little long to prepare but we thought it was a good, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States