Cheese and Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great simple recipe. I agree with the reviewer who said to follow the recipe and boil, do not sautee the onions. The recipe says 5 minutes, the reviewer said 3, I added the onions to the boiling water and started the timer right away and went the full 5 minutes and it was fine. The recipe seemed a little bland (probably because it's next to impossible to get real sharp cheddar anymore)so I tried the suggested 1t Coleman's English mustard and that was nice but I wanted more so the next time I also added a TB of cider vinegar which added a little bite. I made 2 pies at once using 4 red onions and 3 extra large eggs. I found the extra egg to be welcome. The only hard part of the recipe is getting that darned prepared crust to come out of the pan to sit on top. Anybody got any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
An interesting side dish for meat...steak on the grill was our choice. I didn't think the cheddar sounded good and had some Jarlsburg to use up. Glad I did...it was very tasty. I also recommend sauteeing the onion on a small amount of butter/evoo and add a touch of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved tis recipe and I now use it all the time. Every time I make it everybody who tries it lovs it, I wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen1203
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a really nice simple and quick recipe for cheese & onion pie. Don't saute the onions in butter as other reviewers suggest, it will completely ruin the texture this dish is supposed to have and along with the cheese make it far too greasy. The onions are best boiled for a maximum of 3 minutes. I added a teaspoon of English mustard and omitted the salt - it isn't necessary with cheese, and used fresh ground black pepper. I have often made cheese and onion pie. I have also made it without egg, using one red and one yellow onion, after boiling them for 2 minutes I drain and return them to the pan and stir in 1 tablespoon of flour and about 1/4 cup 18% cream, over a low heat stirring until it slightly thickens, then remove from heat and stir in the cheese (6 oz) and one pre-cooked diced medium potato along with the essential teaspoon of English Mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I could have given this recipe 5 stars except for the fact that the amount of salt needs to be stated rather than S & P "to taste". IMO, at least 1/4 tsp salt is required. An excellent dish, very quick and easy, I followed the recipe exactly just because I wanted to know if changes were required. I will make this again, exactly as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
great recipe, i cooked the pie an extra 10 min., it thickened up a little more, and also sauted the onions like previous commented. Overall -very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I loved it, but did the following changes. Only used one shell (saves on calories and makes this pie into a quiche). Added some sour cream, less cheese, more onions, 2 additional eggs and ham. If I had had it my way, I would have added caraway seeds to make it into a true German onion tart, but my husband isn't too keen on them. But even without the caraway seeds, it was really yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I, as well, browned the onions first instead of boiling them. I also added more cheese. It turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
The pie seemed to go over well at the pot luck lunch. It tasted okay cold, but I think it would taste more fantastic hot (but that wasn't an option for me for this lunch). Modifications: Instead of using two regular onions, I used one regular onion, a Spanish onion, and a red onion. I sauteed them in butter until limp and translucent. Also, I used more than one cup of cheese and two eggs instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this pie exactly as the recipe said except I had to make my own shortcrust pastry and it was great just like mother made and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States