Cheese and Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I replaced the pie crust with pizza dough and served pizza sauce on the side. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Excellent, best I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Tastes excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
made this as a quick lunch and it was delicious.i added butter to the onions.really easy and quick to do with fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this pie exactly as the recipe said except I had to make my own shortcrust pastry and it was great just like mother made and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
great recipe, i cooked the pie an extra 10 min., it thickened up a little more, and also sauted the onions like previous commented. Overall -very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I loved tis recipe and I now use it all the time. Every time I make it everybody who tries it lovs it, I wouldnt change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Great simple recipe. I agree with the reviewer who said to follow the recipe and boil, do not sautee the onions. The recipe says 5 minutes, the reviewer said 3, I added the onions to the boiling water and started the timer right away and went the full 5 minutes and it was fine. The recipe seemed a little bland (probably because it's next to impossible to get real sharp cheddar anymore)so I tried the suggested 1t Coleman's English mustard and that was nice but I wanted more so the next time I also added a TB of cider vinegar which added a little bite. I made 2 pies at once using 4 red onions and 3 extra large eggs. I found the extra egg to be welcome. The only hard part of the recipe is getting that darned prepared crust to come out of the pan to sit on top. Anybody got any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I could have given this recipe 5 stars except for the fact that the amount of salt needs to be stated rather than S & P "to taste". IMO, at least 1/4 tsp salt is required. An excellent dish, very quick and easy, I followed the recipe exactly just because I wanted to know if changes were required. I will make this again, exactly as called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen1203
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a really nice simple and quick recipe for cheese & onion pie. Don't saute the onions in butter as other reviewers suggest, it will completely ruin the texture this dish is supposed to have and along with the cheese make it far too greasy. The onions are best boiled for a maximum of 3 minutes. I added a teaspoon of English mustard and omitted the salt - it isn't necessary with cheese, and used fresh ground black pepper. I have often made cheese and onion pie. I have also made it without egg, using one red and one yellow onion, after boiling them for 2 minutes I drain and return them to the pan and stir in 1 tablespoon of flour and about 1/4 cup 18% cream, over a low heat stirring until it slightly thickens, then remove from heat and stir in the cheese (6 oz) and one pre-cooked diced medium potato along with the essential teaspoon of English Mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States