Cheese and Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
The pie seemed to go over well at the pot luck lunch. It tasted okay cold, but I think it would taste more fantastic hot (but that wasn't an option for me for this lunch). Modifications: Instead of using two regular onions, I used one regular onion, a Spanish onion, and a red onion. I sauteed them in butter until limp and translucent. Also, I used more than one cup of cheese and two eggs instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Excellent, best I've made so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I, as well, browned the onions first instead of boiling them. I also added more cheese. It turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen1203
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a really nice simple and quick recipe for cheese & onion pie. Don't saute the onions in butter as other reviewers suggest, it will completely ruin the texture this dish is supposed to have and along with the cheese make it far too greasy. The onions are best boiled for a maximum of 3 minutes. I added a teaspoon of English mustard and omitted the salt - it isn't necessary with cheese, and used fresh ground black pepper. I have often made cheese and onion pie. I have also made it without egg, using one red and one yellow onion, after boiling them for 2 minutes I drain and return them to the pan and stir in 1 tablespoon of flour and about 1/4 cup 18% cream, over a low heat stirring until it slightly thickens, then remove from heat and stir in the cheese (6 oz) and one pre-cooked diced medium potato along with the essential teaspoon of English Mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen1203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
made this as a quick lunch and it was delicious.i added butter to the onions.really easy and quick to do with fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this pie exactly as the recipe said except I had to make my own shortcrust pastry and it was great just like mother made and that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I carmelized the onions in butter, rather than boil them. Otherwise followed the recipe, and this was okay for me and my Dh. Kids hated it tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Instead of boiling the onions in water, I sauteed them in a bit of butter until they were nearly caramelized. I did everything else the same, and it came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Not all that great. Maybe some additional spices would make it a little less bland, or maybe the onions need to be caramelized, but it was definitely missing something and no one wanted seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2000
Very easy to whip together in a hurry. Delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Boursalian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States