Cheese and Chive Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Simple and delicious. Doesn't get any better then that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUKION
Home Town: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I have made these many times. Last time, I added almost a 1/2# of cooked, crumbled bacon! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are delicious! Such a special treat...thanks for sharing the recipe. I did not change a thing, although I have made without chives when I did not have chives and they were still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Yum! I made these for my kids' school lunches. I omitted the hot sauce and chives, and used 1 teaspoon of green herb stock instead of the garlic powder. I also was short of rice cereal by 1/2 cup, so I crushed some cornflakes. I melted the butter and rolled into balls and flattened them to bake. They are crispy and the kids love them! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These are fantastic and something I would highly recommend for sharing during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I've made these a few times now and they are always a hit. I have a 2 y/o and a 3 y/o so I omit the hot sauce and chives, and double the garlic powder and salt. I also ran out of sharp Cheddar so I subbed in a cup of finely grated mozz. Fantastic! Here are my hints: do not make these by hand! Use your mixmaster. My Kitchen Aid gets the dough so tightly packed that I never have problems cutting through it (no crumbling, etc.). I also pop the four sections in the freezer for about 15 minutes and that's always sufficient for me. (I wrap them tightly in press and seal.) Lastly, I try to square off my four rolls. I then cut them (post freezer) SUPER thin and cut those slices in half (think Cheez-It style). It makes WAY more tahn 54 servings but they come out light and crispy. Delicious! Thanks, Nikki! This one's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by electrifyingirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have been making crackers similar to these since I was a teenager decades ago. The hints that I have to make it easier is to: A. Use finely shredded extremely sharp WHITE cheddar cheese (I have to buy blocks and shred by hand). B. Melt the butter C. Sift the flour D. and lastly, I don't form into a roll or refridgerate. The dough is warm from the melted butter, and I've found it best to just squeeze it into 1" balls in my hand, and then press it down on a cookie sheet with the bottom of a flat cup. Make sure the bottom is completely flat and not dished. I also dip the cup into flour between crackers so it doesn't stick. I never have leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
For me, this recipe was just OK. I hosted a wine tasting party and was serving savory snacks. These were left behind, people did not seem interested in them. Would not make these again. Very dry and crumbly, I followed the recipe to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My son found this recipe and wanted to try it with his first harvest of chives. We love it and have been using it at all of our dinner parties this summer. I do use a tablespoon of whatever hot sauce I have on hand for a little extra zing. Thanks for sharing this great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Great recipe thanks for sharing. Next time I will add more hot sauce though. I left them in the fridge overnight in tight little rolls and used an electric carving knife to slice them in the morning. Worked like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States