Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I hate broccoli but I loved it in this and so did my family. I did take the hint of using stock and adding fried onions, garlic, bacon and cayenne pepper, although 1/8 teaspoon of spice was enough. I was worried about the flour, so reduced that to 1/4 cup and about 1 tbsp of butter, and I stirred and toasted the dryish flour and butter mixture for quite a long time until it had started to color. I cut the chicken into small cubes, I thought it would overcook but it turned out fine. Will be using this recipe any time I want to get rid of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Bubendorfer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Love, love! I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. Plus, thyme, marjoram, rosemary, and sea sal to taste.. I used half of cheese and then supplied croutons, roasted pumpkin seeds, chopped green onion, fresh ground pepper, and shredded cheddar cheese as toppings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very good recipe. 3 cups of cheese is 12 oz. and 3 cubes of bullion equal 3 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
We added sautéed onion, garlic, more salt and pepper and this was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it and we will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was definitely a delicious soup! I tried to cut the chicken up into canned-soup-like pieces. And I also cooked the paste just a little past raw so it would not taste raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcstrimE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yummy, very good. Used chicken broth instead of bouillon. Good flavor. I put the broccoli in the food processor before adding it to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used only 5 cups water, and combined it with 5 cups chicken stock, instead of bullion cubes I used a chicken flavored broth base and seasoning powder. I boiled the chicken in broth and water until I could shred it, then I threw in the broccoli along with a couple of cups of chopped cooked bacon. Then mixed in the cream, flour mixture and cheese. Good stuff. Better with ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
very rich! we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
mmmm, so good! I made the flour mixture, then slowly added chicken broth (still 11 cups) working it to make sure it creamed before i added more broth. then i added everything but creme and cheese and let simmer for 45 min like recipe says. Then after 45 min was up... i added the 1 c whiiping cream and 16 oz of cubed valveeta cheese. i love it! I made some white rice on the side. so good mixed together in my bowl where it is just creamy, not soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States