Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I hate broccoli but I loved it in this and so did my family. I did take the hint of using stock and adding fried onions, garlic, bacon and cayenne pepper, although 1/8 teaspoon of spice was enough. I was worried about the flour, so reduced that to 1/4 cup and about 1 tbsp of butter, and I stirred and toasted the dryish flour and butter mixture for quite a long time until it had started to color. I cut the chicken into small cubes, I thought it would overcook but it turned out fine. Will be using this recipe any time I want to get rid of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Bubendorfer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Love, love! I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. Plus, thyme, marjoram, rosemary, and sea sal to taste.. I used half of cheese and then supplied croutons, roasted pumpkin seeds, chopped green onion, fresh ground pepper, and shredded cheddar cheese as toppings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very good recipe. 3 cups of cheese is 12 oz. and 3 cubes of bullion equal 3 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
We added sautéed onion, garlic, more salt and pepper and this was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it and we will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was definitely a delicious soup! I tried to cut the chicken up into canned-soup-like pieces. And I also cooked the paste just a little past raw so it would not taste raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcstrimE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yummy, very good. Used chicken broth instead of bouillon. Good flavor. I put the broccoli in the food processor before adding it to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used only 5 cups water, and combined it with 5 cups chicken stock, instead of bullion cubes I used a chicken flavored broth base and seasoning powder. I boiled the chicken in broth and water until I could shred it, then I threw in the broccoli along with a couple of cups of chopped cooked bacon. Then mixed in the cream, flour mixture and cheese. Good stuff. Better with ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
very rich! we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
mmmm, so good! I made the flour mixture, then slowly added chicken broth (still 11 cups) working it to make sure it creamed before i added more broth. then i added everything but creme and cheese and let simmer for 45 min like recipe says. Then after 45 min was up... i added the 1 c whiiping cream and 16 oz of cubed valveeta cheese. i love it! I made some white rice on the side. so good mixed together in my bowl where it is just creamy, not soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States