Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Good recipe with a couple of minor changes. First of all, please don't use bouillon and water. There are wonderful packaged chicken stocks and broths in the grocery store. Secondly, once you've made your roux, start slowly adding your stock. You won't get any lumps this way. Adding the other ingredients first makes no sense to me. Then add the rest of the ingredients. Definitely needed a lot more seasonings. Also added some fresh chopped parsley as a garnish. This was a great place to start Rebecca and a good way to use up some leftover chicken. Soup was hearty and very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I was in the mood for something chickeny, broccolliy, cheesy, and spicy as well - so I made a few changes. First, I sauteed a whole large yellow onion with three cloves of garlic - then added the roux ingredients and cooked it until bubbly and just starting to turn brown. I, then, added 8 cups of chicken broth (slowly at first), four cups of water and the rest of the called-for ingredients (except for the salt) - plus some baby carrots for sweetness, and some pre-cooked bacon for smokiness. Then, I added a half teaspoon of cayenne, a few pinches of nutmeg and about 15 shakes of mexican hot sauce. At the 45 minute mark, I removed about a litre of the soup (for use later) - then added the creme and cheddar, as well as about 1/2 cup parmesan. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Thanks for the recipe! I just made it for a Teachers' Luncheon at school, and everyone raved about it and asked for the recipe. The addition of the chicken was such a nice change, and all agreed that it was a meal all by itself. I did make a few changes, just to make it easier on myself. I picked up an already roasted chicken from the grocery store and just cut up the breast into bite-sized pieces, and I used 2 bags of frozen broccoli florets, instead of the fresh. Obviously, I didn't need to simmer the soup nearly as long. I also added some sauteed onion and garlic, a bit of cayenne pepper, and about 8 oz. of velveeta cheese. It turned out beautifully! Thanks again for the recipe. It's going in the "keeper" pile for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
My husband almost had tears in his eyes when he took his first bite. He absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't follow the recipe all the way either. Instead of adding the flour mixture last, I added all the rest of the ingredients into the flour mixture. I also didn't let the soup simmer for 45 minutes. But it was still amazing. I made the Italian Bread Bowls from this website and this meal was a complete success. If I could, I would give this recipe 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This turned out very nice for me. I boiled the chicken first and shredded it first instead of cutting it in chunks, and also used 4 cans of chicken broth instead of the bullion. When it was time to add the thickening agent, I actually poured out some of the broth into the flour and butter and wisked that together separatly so there were no lumps. Then I added garlic salt and an extra cup of cheese. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED THIS SOUP! I USED VELVEETA CHEESE INSTEAD OF CHEDDAR(DID NOT HAVE ANY) AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT! THANKS REBECCA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chandler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
My family never eats soup and they hate broccoli. I took a chance and made it thinking that if they didn't like it, I would have lunch for a week. They absolutely loved this soup and even wanted more. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
This soup was a SHOW STOPPER! Everyone loved it, and the flavor was well WORTH the little extra time it took to make. I've made it three times, and I add extra chicken, and I put steamed broccoli into the bowls before I serve up the soup. A good loaf of sour dough bread is ALL you need to complete this outstanding meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
This was so good! Everyone enjoyed it and the leftovers went fast. It was even better the second time around. The butter/flour paste comes out very thick. I thinned it with a little of the soup broth before adding to avoid clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I added two equal halves of green and red peppers, extra brocolli, and used whole baked chicken and it was great. I put the cooked chicken in the pot with water for 15 minutes, removed to let cool for 1/2 hour. Added ingredients to remaining broth and simmered for an hour. Ummm Soupeee... Cool broth in fridge to skim fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States