Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Made this for my family and they loved it. Recipe is easy to follow. Delicious for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiny_r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Very good. Like others I just added the borth to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
We absolutely LOVE this soup. I did make a couple of changes. I used chicken stock (in place of water & bouillon) from a hen I cooked the day before. I also used white and dark meat as suggested by another reviewer. We also prefer more of a chowder vs soup, so I made the roux as instructed then took some of the stock and added another cup of flour to make more. We will definitely be adding this to our winter menu. Super YUMMY!!! Thank you Rebecca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Dinges Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is really good as written. Like others I will probably use broth next time and I think I’ll omit the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome! I recommend taking the chicken and broccoli out prior to whisking in the roux, then add them back in after (my broccoli disintegrated and my chicken shredded). Also, my girlfriend recommended adding whole kernel corn and egg noodles which made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars based on the original recipe. My family loved it. I have made it multiple times and have added a few things. I have added carrots and cauliflower, my kids love this, so why not add extra veggies?! I also have used broth instead of water and bouillon. The only other major change I make is I don't add the cheese to the pot. I can never get it to melt smoothly, so each person adds the cheese to their bowl. I find this gives me a better consistency. As I said, made it as written, loved it, that is what my rating is based on. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Excellent recipe. I used it as a guideline as I am a vegetarian, left out the chicken, subbed veg broth for the chicken bouillon cubes. Was a thick and creamy dinner. Next time I'll add some cooked rice and make sure I have some fresh baked bread on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
WOW! Even my picky 4 year old eatter LOVED this soup! I fed it to my 9 month old and he GOBBLED it down! I put chicken stock in it and added celery because those were the stuff I had on hand. Oh, and velveta cheese, too. But it didn't hurt the integrity at all! Wonderful! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
SKINNY VERSION: Still uh-mazing!! Instead of light cream I used hemp milk, instead of flour use gluten free pancake mix with only HALF the butter!! Replaced cheddar cheese with raw gruyere cheese and used only a little…..maybe 1/2 cup….OMG!!!!! My husband FREAKED!!! Soooo good!! This is an amazing recipe to base what your tastes are. IT'S A HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I used chicken stock (dont care for boullion cubes). I used rotissaire chicken that was left over with 1 cup extra xharp cheddar and 2 cups velvetta. I dont really think these substitutions changed the integrity of the recipe, that is why I am reviewing. I also pureed the mixture with a handheld, then added the cheese and chicken in. Very good, evven my 6 yr old nephew liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States