Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Delicious! Try it with cubed ham instead of chicken - it's to die for! I also recommend using low-sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon, especially if you are using ham as this will add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
FOLLOW these changes for a perfect SOUP! First, sautee 1/2 cup onions and 2 cloves of garlic in soup pot. Then I used equal parts vegetable & chicken stock (8-10 cups total), all the called for ingredients above, 1/2 cup diced celery, a few pinches of: red pepper, nutmeg, bacon bits & hot sauce. During 45 minutes of simmering, I added the roux. I finished by using only 8 oz. of velveeta and a few shakes of parmesan. It was plenty cheesy without all the fat. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very good! Big hit with the whole family. I cut the recipe in half, but still used 3 boullion cubes. I also sauteed onion and garlic in the butter before adding the flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
It was really good! The next day was even better! The only thing I did differently with the recipe is add onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
this was yummy! the only suggestion: wait to add salt AFTER you have added the cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dermott, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Outstanding. I accidentally made it with vegetable boullion and it still turned out way too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this soup last night. My family couldn't stop raving about how good it tasted. I did do some changes after reading some of the reviews. I made the thickening mixture and added it to the pot at the end. I used creamer rather than the light cream. In addition to the cheddar cheese, I added 4-5 ounces of velveta cheese. Also, I added the garlic powder, chopped onions and cut back the butter to about half. Instead of using fresh broccoli, I only had frozen (thawed). Still turned out great.I added the broccoli for the last 5 minutes to prevent it from over cooking. Between bites, I asked my family if I should perhaps try adding potato chunks next time.......My husband told me not to mess with how I made it. He is quite a cook himself, so that was a compliment! The broth was a bit thin at first,and I had hoped there would be some left over to see if it would get thicker the next day.....but no such luck! I would highly recommend this one! One note.......I think it might be good served in a bread bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
THIS WAS GREAT!!!! I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but pretty close. I only had frozen broccoli so I waited until the very end and put it in the pot about 10 minutes or so. I added a lot of cheese. Mine did come out a little thin at first, but as it sat in the fridge over the next day or so, it thickened almost seemed like a chowder. I actually ate it the next morning for breakfast, it was THAT good! LOL Hubby loved it too, he kept raving about it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very, Very Good! My son likes rice in his chicken soup, so I added a 1-1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Simply the most delicious soup! My one year old ate and ate this soup, with his hands(messy of course), and kept saying mmmmmm. My husband and I loved it equally as much. In fact, my husband said "you mean, you made this from scratch, mmmmmm". I kept everything the same except I substituted onion salt for regular salt. Also, I added some garlic powder, onion powder, and I used chicken broth in place of the boullion/water. Thanks and I mean thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States