Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was very good....but not quite as good as some others that I have tried...with a little tweaking I think I could turn this one into a five star recipe. Next time...I will use Velveeta cheese and maybe some onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I had high hopes and watering tastebuds while making this soup but was really let down... it was REALLY bland and a previous reviewer was right when she said it doesn't make sense to add the flour paste after everything is encorporated... hard to get the lumps out. I ended up having to melt cheese wiz all over the top of the soup so that my family would eat it. Next time I think I will use a sharp/old cheddar instead of regular cheddar and... I dunno it needs SOMETHING to give it a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieRobert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Great. Followed others advise add garlic and to brown chicken lightly. My 1 year old and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linds
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I am only giving this recipe three stars "as is." Based on other reviews and my own taste, I changed this recipe by adding 1/2 onion & 2 cloves of garlic (sautee first) and some thyme & parsley. I also added more salt & pepper than what the recipe called for. It would have been very bland without these changes! I added more cheese (about 3/4 cup) as well. In addition, I made the roux and added whisked my liquid (NOT WATER! CHICKEN BROTH/STOCK!) into it. You don't add the paste to the liquid!! Ew. Anyway, other than that, I used frozen broccoli and cooked the chicken in a pan before adding to simmer in the soup. Okay recipe, not stellar. I'll be looking for a different version to add to my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Fantastic! I used an immersion blender to blend it all (and got a little too carried away), which might be why it's not 100% perfect (maybe it should be chunkier)...but otherwise, great! I halved the recipe and sauteed the chicken with 1/4 of an onion, 2 tbsp of butter, and one clove of garlic. I also wouldn't add the roux to the soup--do it the other way around to save yourself the hassle of finding (and getting rid of) clumps of flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Better than restaurant quality. This recipe makes a lot but it tastes even better the next day, and freezes well. I agree with other reviewers, wait to add salt until after you've added the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEAMERICAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
My husband and kids love this soup. I make it anytime I have leftover chicken. It even freezes well! I use milk so its a bit thiner so I make a thicker roue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Delicious! Try it with cubed ham instead of chicken - it's to die for! I also recommend using low-sodium chicken broth instead of bouillon, especially if you are using ham as this will add more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
FOLLOW these changes for a perfect SOUP! First, sautee 1/2 cup onions and 2 cloves of garlic in soup pot. Then I used equal parts vegetable & chicken stock (8-10 cups total), all the called for ingredients above, 1/2 cup diced celery, a few pinches of: red pepper, nutmeg, bacon bits & hot sauce. During 45 minutes of simmering, I added the roux. I finished by using only 8 oz. of velveeta and a few shakes of parmesan. It was plenty cheesy without all the fat. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very good! Big hit with the whole family. I cut the recipe in half, but still used 3 boullion cubes. I also sauteed onion and garlic in the butter before adding the flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States