Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
RATING: Husband, kids and myself all thought it was delicious! We had it for dinner last night and the rest was finished as leftovers today. I ate it plain, but one of my sons loved it with bacon crumbles. CHANGES: because I had read so much about there being not enough flavor I decided to add another bullion cube to mine. It came out very salty - so next time I think I'll add the bullion cube but minus the salt. I also did not have a normal pot big enough so I boiled the items initially in a pot with about 2/3 of the water, then transfered it into a crockpot (with the remaining water amount already heating inside) to finish it. I think maybe next time I'll try potatoes as others have done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I substituted potato for chicken, but this soup was delicious!!! I had it for a family get together and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Whelan Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I also added potato to mine. I read others reviews & did the following: Sauteed a diced onion & two cloves of garlic in only 2 tblspons of butter (to keep it healthy), then added the chunks of chicken to brown with the onions & garlic while adding spices (black pepper, salt, white pepper, pinch of nutmeg, dried parsley flakes, Tony's, and one cube of chicken bouillon) once the chicken was a little browned, I added cans of chicken & veg. broth. Let that simmer for a bit until the chicken is tender. I mixed 1 cup of whole milk (cream is too fattening) with flour and added this mixture to the pot. When soup thickened a bit, I added a bag of frozen broccoli & cubes of boiled potato that were boiled while chicken was boiling. Then I added medium sharp cheddar cheese at the end, I only had about 1 cup of cheese but the soup was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hasan'sCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe... I did tweak a tad bit and it still came out great... I did make the roux but I added olive oil along with the butter to make the consistency of the roux better. I also kept the roux in the pot while I added the other ingredients. Must admit I utilized onions and green peppers along with frozen broccoli and I also added potatoes with artichoke hearts... Came out awesome and like other reviews was better the next day. I also utilized sharp cheddar cheese... Highly recommended on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very good, very easy! May need more salt and pepper at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I started by browning the chicken cubes in a little oil, then removed them. I then also sauteed some onions and garlic in a little more oil, added the butter and the flour. I also didn't remove the roux and just continued by adding the water and boullion, which I used 5 cubes, instead of 3. I used frozen broccoli and added cubed potatoes, and added the browned chicken back to simmer. I used an extra cup of cheese (as the pre-shredded cheees came in a 4 cup bag) and added heavy cream (as it was the only container that came in 8 oz.). It came out wonderfully, but think I would either add more broccoli and chicken, or use less liquid. And might cook the brocoli and potatoes separately and add towards the end, as they mosly broke apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This recipe was outstanding! Easy and delicious. I followed the other reviewers and added some onion and celery and used chicken bouillon instead of water. I didn't add the cheese and it still was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Oh my Goodness! This is sooo good. I have made this over and over again. The only drawback is that there are no potatoes, so I add my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My husband deceided that it was a "soup" night and after looking through hundreds of receips, we deceided on this one. And are we glad that we did!!! It was excellent!! It wasn't to hard to make and since we doubled the receipe, we even had some left over for lunch the next day. Definitly will recommend this one to others!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was very good....but not quite as good as some others that I have tried...with a little tweaking I think I could turn this one into a five star recipe. Next time...I will use Velveeta cheese and maybe some onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States