Cheese and Broccoli Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Love this soup - have made it many times. The only change I make to the recipe is to substitute chicken broth for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
To this wonderful recipie i added a few things and it really added a kick to it. I started with sauteed onion, 3 strips of bacon, leeks, carrot, turnip and instead of the chicken breast I used chicken legs added 1 ts cumin, 1 ts sugar red pepper flakes once it all was nicely seasoned I pressure cooked it to preserve the vitamins. After 20 min I used the hand blender and made it real smooth. I loved spicing it up !! Everyone loved it ..it was a cold snowy night in Toronto so it really hit the spot and made the whole floor of our high rise building smell like home. Amazing how the aroma of home cooking transforms a cold condo to a comfortable home. Thank you for the amazing recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Very easy to make & my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I hate broccoli but I loved it in this and so did my family. I did take the hint of using stock and adding fried onions, garlic, bacon and cayenne pepper, although 1/8 teaspoon of spice was enough. I was worried about the flour, so reduced that to 1/4 cup and about 1 tbsp of butter, and I stirred and toasted the dryish flour and butter mixture for quite a long time until it had started to color. I cut the chicken into small cubes, I thought it would overcook but it turned out fine. Will be using this recipe any time I want to get rid of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Bubendorfer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Love, love! I used chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. Plus, thyme, marjoram, rosemary, and sea sal to taste.. I used half of cheese and then supplied croutons, roasted pumpkin seeds, chopped green onion, fresh ground pepper, and shredded cheddar cheese as toppings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Very good recipe. 3 cups of cheese is 12 oz. and 3 cubes of bullion equal 3 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
We added sautéed onion, garlic, more salt and pepper and this was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it and we will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was definitely a delicious soup! I tried to cut the chicken up into canned-soup-like pieces. And I also cooked the paste just a little past raw so it would not taste raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArcstrimE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Yummy, very good. Used chicken broth instead of bouillon. Good flavor. I put the broccoli in the food processor before adding it to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used only 5 cups water, and combined it with 5 cups chicken stock, instead of bullion cubes I used a chicken flavored broth base and seasoning powder. I boiled the chicken in broth and water until I could shred it, then I threw in the broccoli along with a couple of cups of chopped cooked bacon. Then mixed in the cream, flour mixture and cheese. Good stuff. Better with ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States