Cheese and Bacon-Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
From the first bite we were making "mmm" noises. We really enjoyed this and will be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Used turkey bacon, skip olive oil. Cooks beautifully in non sick fry pan. Instead of cream cheese I used low fat ricotta cheese. This dish does not need fat to taste great...Herbs add flavor w/o fat calories..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Savanna Carlisle
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
My family LOVED this recipes!!! My 2 year old can be hard to please but it was no problem with this dinner and my husband finished off the leftovers by the next night! I made a few changes of my own which I felt made the recipe that much better. We're not big fans of bacon so I substituted the bacon for 3 Italian sausages. I removed the skin of them and chopped the meat up. Same cooking time and everything...just different meat. I found that using the sausage helped yield more shells as well. I also added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese on top since we're all such big cheese lovers. But this recipes is DEFINITELY one I will be making again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Great dish. Easy to prepare and I substituted ground turkey for the second batch. I left out the rosemary and used oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wow, were these ever rich! I made one change, I only had prosciutto in my freezer, so I used a couple of slices, but it ended up being incredibly salty (my mistake). However, I also thought the amount of cream cheese was almost overpowering. We ended up being able to stretch these quite a bit, only having two shells each per meal with a big salad. I think next time I make these, I will sort of borrow Cindy's idea below and sub half of the cream cheese with ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I changed the recipe a bit, I am allergic to onions so I left them out. I cooked the bacon and garlic the night before and mixed the bread crumbs and cream cheese to the pan. Let it sit in the fridge overnight so the flavors combined. Warmed the mixture to make it easier to stuff the shells with. Added Italian seasonings, sweet basil, fresh ground pepper, a pinch of salt and a pinch of sugar to the puree. I didn't have fresh mozzarella so I added shredded for the last 5 minutes of cooking time. I need to try this again but with Italian sausage next
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe..made it as is the first time except I used shredded cheese instead of Buffalo and wished I had used Ragu instead of tomato puree. The second time I tried this I got creative and added some shredded cooked chicken breast to the bacon/cream cheese mixture, used jar alfredo sauce instead of tomato puree and I used fresh shredded parm instead of mozerella on top and then backed the same. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was really good. I did make some changes (I used ricotta cheese instead of cream cheese. My bacon-crazy kids really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe was great, but needed a couple of changes. I added about a 1/4 lb of hamburger to bacon mixture and that turned out well, also gave me more shells to fill. With the shells, I would cook them for atleast 10 min instead of eight. They weren't all the way done and after baking they were hard on the edges. Also I wasn't too big of a fan of the tomato puree. Not too much flavor. I think next time I will just use ragu or prego sauce of my choice for extra flavor. Overall this recipe was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alytholen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Mostly made as is. I didn't care to hunt down whatever 'Buffalo' mozzarella is so just used regular. (I'll have to check that out since I'm a cheese lover.) And I don't usually have smoked bacon -- meant to add a bit of my 'smoke in a bottle' but forgot. Not sure how much difference that would have made, because I didn't much see the point of the bacon. May be one of those things you notice more when it's missing, rather than when it's there. And this only filled I think about 2/3 the shells called for & that was not even stuffing them really good. They were pretty good, but not "great." Been quite some time since I've done large shells, so it was certainly something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States