Cheese and Bacon-Stuffed Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
well tried, used 3 sausages that some one sugested, and ricotta cheese, used jarred tomato sauce and reg mozzerella, it made enough, but i will probably not make again due to the caloric intake, very artery clogging. good-but no good for me personaly, i know kids will love this. i can make this for the kids and i'll make a low cal fish w/vegies for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was tasteless as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought these were okay. It was my first attempt at stuffed shells, and I made this recipe primarily because I needed to use up some about-to-expire cream cheese. I thought the recipe was a little one-note. The cream cheese flavor was very dominant. I could barely taste the bacon, and I thought the tomato puree could have benefited from more seasoning beyond the recommended rosemary (I used even more rosemary than suggested and still felt that it was under-seasoned). This would be a hit for someone with a more limited palate; my toddler really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
pretty good. I used dry bread crumbs and it was too much, couldn't even taste the cream cheese. so more bacon, less bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I liked this recipe..made it as is the first time except I used shredded cheese instead of Buffalo and wished I had used Ragu instead of tomato puree. The second time I tried this I got creative and added some shredded cooked chicken breast to the bacon/cream cheese mixture, used jar alfredo sauce instead of tomato puree and I used fresh shredded parm instead of mozerella on top and then backed the same. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
From the first bite we were making "mmm" noises. We really enjoyed this and will be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I had high hopes, but it just didn't work out. I thought the taste of the tomato puree was way overpowering. Using spaghetti sauce instead would've been a much better choice for our family. I subbed Italian seasoning for the rosemary since I don't care for it, and couldn't find Buffalo mozz so I used shredded. Nearly burned it since it was shredded and not chopped! (oops!!) I didn't have near enough filling for the pasta shells. Bummed, bummed, bummed. How many shells has everyone else used? I weighed out 8 oz but it was too many for the amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Mostly made as is. I didn't care to hunt down whatever 'Buffalo' mozzarella is so just used regular. (I'll have to check that out since I'm a cheese lover.) And I don't usually have smoked bacon -- meant to add a bit of my 'smoke in a bottle' but forgot. Not sure how much difference that would have made, because I didn't much see the point of the bacon. May be one of those things you notice more when it's missing, rather than when it's there. And this only filled I think about 2/3 the shells called for & that was not even stuffing them really good. They were pretty good, but not "great." Been quite some time since I've done large shells, so it was certainly something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Wow, were these ever rich! I made one change, I only had prosciutto in my freezer, so I used a couple of slices, but it ended up being incredibly salty (my mistake). However, I also thought the amount of cream cheese was almost overpowering. We ended up being able to stretch these quite a bit, only having two shells each per meal with a big salad. I think next time I make these, I will sort of borrow Cindy's idea below and sub half of the cream cheese with ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was really good. I did make some changes (I used ricotta cheese instead of cream cheese. My bacon-crazy kids really liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States