Cheese Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This was a family favorite - my husband said it scored a "10"! I used Taco Bell's Cheese and Salsa mix (in a jar) and didn't add any of the spice. It seemed to do the trick. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I tried this at my table of 3 boys and hubby - they all love it - I made it again with leftover sausage - it was fantastic. Now making it for Bunco group. It is rare my husband raves over dinner, especially soup but this did the trick! Thanks Alice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I made a double batch of this recipe to take to a family luncheon. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I made a second double batch the next week. It was really yummy for lunch on a cold winter day. I added a can of beef broth to make it a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I did not do this recipe in the crock pot, but instead simmered it on the stove for about an hour before adding the Chez Whiz. I also added ground black pepper and a little salt. I served it with breadsticks to dip in the soup, and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This is a very good soup. But to make it easier, I used a large can of Veg-all. I would definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Husband and I liked this soup. Unfortunately, my young children would not go near it - but that is not unusual. Next time, I will substitute a can of beer for the water to give it a great beer-cheese flavor. I also will add a little less corn. This is a very thick soup and I think the recipe is a little heavy on the corn. To simplify even more, I substituted a can of Veg-All large cut veggies for the potatoes, carrots and celery. Same ingredients, but much less time to prepare and cook. I was able to make the entire soup in about 30 minutes on the stovetop by using these pre-cooked canned vegetables. I will try this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
It does not have an appealing look when cooked and the first bite was the hardest to take, but overall it had a good taste. After talking the kids and husband into trying it they liked it. Needed a little more zip so next time I will add a little more cayenne for extra flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
My husband and I really liked this soup. We are cheese lovers. I used a Wal-Mart brand of jar cheese and it tasted just fine. It was very good the way it was, but i think that maybe using a roast and broth would make it even better. We will make this soup again and probably many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
NO tomato products in this soup - surprised at how tasty this soup turned out to be! The only change I made - I melted cheddar cheese and added versus using cheese in a jar. Served this along with a fresh garden salad and toasted French bread. This was a faceless crockpot recipe which I chose to prepare for the Allstars - South Region. Thanks Alice for sharing your recipe with Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My guys liked this. I kept it as written except added a container of soft pretzel cheese dip instead of the whiz and it was great. Had a little kick. I did add 1/2 Cup of beer and another 1/2 cup water to the original posting of water-it looked like it needed more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States