Cheese Stuffed Mushroom Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Love these!! I make my filling with cream cheese and parmesan. Add bacon for another layer of flavor. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenny662
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I AM THE OP. I made these recently and have some notes for you all. (1) The recipe was changed from original for some reason when posted here by AR. You only need one large skillet. Use half the butter, cook half the caps, removing those that are done, adding more butter and cooking the rest. Do not overcook or they become mushy. Keep them somewhat firm. (2) Neufchatel is a type of cream cheese with a milder flavor and sold right next to the regular c.c. in the store. (3) To make a thicker filling, add a tbsp. or two of plain breadcrumbs, not egg white. (4) Do not overlook the step of adding the finely chopped raw stems to the filling! This gives it more body and a bit of texture, and helps to thicken it up a little. (5) I used a cookie press and a very large star-type tip to fill the caps. Much faster, easier, and nicer looking. (6) I tried something new--After cooking and draining all the 'shrooms ("cup" down in the colander, by the way) I put the drained juice back into the hot pan along with whatever juices were still in the pan from cooking. I lowered the heat and simmered and reduced it until dark and slightly thick, about 5 minutes, stirring constantly. I added 2 tbsp. of butter and the garlic and continued with the recipe. It made them very savory with a concentrated mushroom flavor. Try it both ways and see which you like better! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is the foundation for a delicious appetizer! The tang of the goat cheese is excellent and mixes wonderfully with the mushroom. However, in my opinion, there needs to be a little acid and/or crunch to balance the creaminess of all the cheese in this dish. Otherwise, the richness quickly becomes overwhelming. So, when made the dish a second time, I increased the amount of onion and added a few finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes to the cheese mixture. I also sauted the mushrooms, onion, garlic and tomatoes for just a few minutes, then I mixed them with the cheeses and a little fresh ground Italian seasoning. To give the mushrooms a little crunch, I mixed breadcrumbs with some melted butter and topped the stuffed mushrooms. I cooked the mushrooms as indicated in the original recipe, and everything was done through very nicely. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
these were great but I found the garlic burned under the broiler, I think next time I'll drizzle it over after I pull them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa.Homebaked

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I was looking for a stuffed mushroom that I didnt need breadcrumbs for (low carb) and tried these. Since I didnt have any goat cheese I used shredded cheddar instead and they were excellent! I will make these again. Easy, fast and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made two pounds of these, and they were absolutely gone within 10 minutes! They are so delicious, creamy with great flavor. For sure a new staple with our family, I will be making them for two Christmas functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
With this recipe, my girlfriend has now announced me the chef of the house - and is "forcing" me, to make this over and over again - and I couldn't agree more - this was amazing, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is so delicious. My friend always made a mushroom appetizer that I loved, and I have been trying to find a recipe that recreates it. This is it!!!! I took these to a dinner party with friends and they were gone in 5 minutes! I made a few changes by not adding the garlic butter at the end and using finely chopped green onion instead of regular onion. I mixed the garlic into the cheese mixture. SOOO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
They were a little too "cheesy" for me, but my friend liked them a lot! Like some other reviews, I changed the goat cheese to feta & the onion to green onion. (Although I do love goat cheese!) I also changed the butter to olive oil & used much less. I think the only other thing I might do differently is to maybe up the time under the broiler to 10 minutes--I added 2 more minutes after the 5 minutes & I still thought they needed more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne K.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These were pretty good. I added some chives on the top for color and they looked pretty. After reading the raving reviews I expected a little more. I may make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States